Brrrrr and keeping warm with knitting

Yesterday, we woke up to 3-4″ of snow and more falling. This was great when the kids were younger because they would dash out of bed and “chomp” at the bit until I let them go outside and play. You really know when your kids are growing up when they want to sleep in and not get cold. Even DS burrowed further into his blankets trying to avoid the cold. Unfortunately, his chickens needed food and the sidewalk and driveway needed shoveling. DD dashed into a warm shower and had to be strongly encouraged to hurry up.

Just as I was about to leave (yes, I had to get out on the roads) for the doctor’s office to have labwork done, GPID called looking for DH. He was very concerned because it had rained on Wednesday night, frozen, and then it snowed on top. DH would normally have been coming home from work in the morning, but he instead had to go to training for his job. This meant he was working 16 hours straight. GPID had heard that the freeway was closed for awhile because a tractor/trailer had jack-knifed on the lovely ice and no one could get through. Thankfully, I was able to reassure him that DH was not coming quite as far as that and he wouldn’t be home until later in the day so hopefully the roads would be better. Unfortunately, I perturbed him with the idea of having to go out and get labwork completed.

When I went to the doctor’s office, there were people driving who acted like they were very scared of the road. For the first time in a long time, the roads were not completely cleared but a lot better than usual. It was apparent the snow plow had been out and cleared away lots of snow. There was sand on the road as they don’t use salt out here (and no, I don’t want to hear about how salt isn’t good for the environment–I know but that is what they used back East). Particularly with the snow tires on the car, I was able to get around pretty much normally, though I had to wait on the occasional car whose driver wasn’t real sure about the condition of the road. I made sure I called GPID after my appointment to let him know that the roads weren’t bad at all.

Much to DS’s displeasure, I made sure that he and I went out after I got back home and we shoveled the first round of snow off the driveway. It was so nice to be outside, even though it was quite cold and windy. I’ve been inside for most of the last two weeks due to the nasty cold, but with my voice back, my sniffles gone and bundled up really well, we made short work of the snow. Approximately one hour later, it began to snow again. 🙂 DS really wasn’t excited at the prospect of shoveling more snow, however, we went out and shoveled another 1 1/2-2″ of snow. Thankfully, we had no new snow on the ground when we woke up this morning. The blessing in all the snow is that there will be plenty of water, the intense single digit numbers will freeze/kill all the bugs and we should have another good garden this summer. I know I must start some of my plants by the end of this month.

As for the knitting while I was down with the nasty cold, I managed to get quite a bit done on DD’s sweater. And I even took pictures this morning:

Neck to just past middle of body

Neck to just past middle of body

The above picture is the front of the “blob” that I have been working on. This is from the neck to 3/5 down the body. When I finish, I should have worked through at least two more of the cable motifs. Below you can see where I have started on additional waist cables on each side of this central cable:

New waist cables started at bottom left

New waist cables started at bottom left

Here is a close up of one of the center cables:

It's not as hard as it looks!

It’s not as hard as it looks!

I have also made some progress on a double-knit hat for DH in black and gray superwash 100% merino wool. Here is the progress so far:

Wish it was bigger and could keep my knee warm :)

Wish it was bigger and could keep my knee warm 🙂

In order for DH to be able to wear this anywhere near work, which is where he wants to wear it, the outside at least has to be black. Thankfully I already had the yarn in the stash and it needs to be used.

Last but not least is an acrylic yarn project. There are some people on my “gift” list that prefer  not to handwash their gifts, so I chose to make a Honey Cowl from a variegated acrylic worsted weight yarn. This was given to me and I’m not sure what it is. My progress on it is not too far, but because it is a fairly simple project, I carry it with me and try to pick it up when I can and add to the work.

Multi-colored blues and purples

Multi-colored blues and purples

The variegated yarn somewhat distorts the stitch definition but it is still pretty.

That’s pretty much all there is for now. We’re just trying to stay warm and busy and between regular projects and the weather, we’re getting lots done.

 

 

 

 

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.