Knitting, knitting, knitting…where’s the end?

It is Friday and the house needs to be cleaned. DH is sleeping so any house cleaning that involves loud noises – aka the vacuuming – will have to be left for later when he wakes up. It is still cold with no end in sight. And the knitting keeps stacking up.

Yesterday I finished the first fliptop mitten for DS and started the second one. I am using this pattern from a really old blog that apparently doesn’t see any new posts. The yarn I am using is leftovers from a sweater vest that I have knit three times for DH. Every time he loses weight, I have to reknit it. Thankfully I have the pattern down really well. Poor DS prefers brighter colors like green and orange, however he says this is okay because it is soft and really warm. We’ll see how it works out.

In between sessions with the mittens which I haven’t been taking in my bag when I go to pick DD up at work, I work on the double knit wool hat for DH. The outside layer is black and the inside is a nice rich gray. I’m using this pattern but progress is really slow. It is frustrating to go so slow but I think I have discovered why: 1) you knit one round with the one color, slipping the stitches of the other, then you repeat the process with the other color; and, 2) the tips of my circular needle are shorter than I am used to so I always feel like the outside of my hands are “hanging off” of the edges and have nothing to hold on to. The first just means every row gets knitted twice and the second is coming along over time. Every time I get some speed going, I have to put it down and move to other things that need to be done however so it’s a slow WIP.

These two projects really need to be finished so they can be used and I can move back to DD’s sweater which was moving along so nicely and also finish up DS’s socks. DH needs a new pair of wool socks, just because 🙂 and I’d really like to make a new pair for myself. I also need to knit dishcloths as my stack of new ones for pulling gifts from is now empty. I have yarn to knit for them but too many other projects calling my name needing done. Speaking of that, I must go as I need to knit just a few stitches before heading off to proctor DS’s daily tests, fix lunch, take DD to give her Senior Presentation, and pick up a few groceries. The list goes on and on and on.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.