The continuing knitting saga plus a wee bit of cooking

One of the blessings that came from so much and so long cold temperatures was the desire to stay inside as much as possible and knit. So without further ado, I’ll try and catch everyone up.

While fighting a severe case of startitis, I have continued to plug along on DH’s double knit hat. I now have about 4 1/2 inches knitted and when I reach 5 inches, I will be able to do the striping. I need a minimum of 6 1/2 inches before I start the crown decreases. Last night, I took the knitting with me to the youth group meeting for the kids and while we sang and they played a lovely game of people tic-tac-toe, I knitted away. I think I added 1/2 inch during the 1 1/2 hour meeting. 😦 Knitting each row twice because of the color changes, etc. is taking it’s toll on my speed. I will get done.

DD’s sweater is waiting impatiently for me to finish the hat and get back to it. The color of the sweater is bright and cheery and I can’t wait. Of course, behind that is the pair of socks for DS that need to be finished, but we’ll get there.

On the cooking front, there is a batch of pinto beans in the crock pot this morning. There are no more beans other than black-eyed peas in the freezer, so into the pot the dried beans went. I’d really like to scoop some out tonight and make chili to go with a large skillet of cornbread for supper. We’ll see if that agrees with the rest of the family. My supplies of dried beans are dwindling so I hope to restock this next Monday. I hope to get some pinto beans, black turtle beans, pigeon peas, lentils, green split peas and I think we’ll try at least one other color of split peas. I also want to see if the grocery store has added any other beans to their bulk section that we’d like to try. DS has taken a hankering to eat beans lately. He says they fill the “hollow” spots. 🙂

Tomorrow night the Bible study youth group is coming over for one last study session before Sabbath’s competition. Because of this visit, I am thawing frozen bananas to make a loaf or two of banana bread either this afternoon or tonight. It will be a nice change from the apples, popcorn, and juice we have had at the last few meetings. After Sabbath’s competition, we have one more month of study session, a competition at the end of February, one study session in early March and our final competition on March 9. Then we are done for this year. I will miss coaching, but due to our change in positions within the local youth group, we will no longer be able to coach. If DS ends up coaching/captaining the group next year (only if an adult doesn’t step up to do it), then we will be hosting the study group in our home, but not coaching. That will be most interesting.

Now, I’m off to see how much schoolwork DS and DD have done and to try and knit some more on the double knit hat. I want it done so I can move on to something else.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.