Knitting update and garden planning

Though I don’t have any pictures, I have done some knitting this week. Right now I’m delaying picking DD’s sweater back up and knitting on it. For the last two weeks I have wanted to cast on a new pair of socks and so far I have been able to resist. That means the sweater MUST be picked back up.

While waiting for DD to get off work and waiting for DD and DS during their Pathfinder meeting this week, I was able to get some more knitting done on DS’s socks. I’m not sure that I like the construction of the heel, particularly in relation to the gussets and the foot. The foot is being knit, though it is slow, however, I am not sure but what I will end up ripping it back to the heel and going at it different when I reach the toes and have DS try it on.

With the tax returns in, planning and research has commenced on the gardening and orchard for this year. We are hoping to purchase and plant two apple trees and perhaps a peach tree. The decision has to be made as to whether we will purchase the trees locally or order them in from a company in Washington. One of the apple trees will be a Honey Crisp and the other will be either a Northern Spy or a Spartan. We really wanted a Sam Houston peach tree but that would have to be ordered from Texas and we’re not sure that would be real cost effective so we are still researching that.

I checked the website for an old seed catalog I had from Jungseed Company at www.jungseed.com because I hope to be able to put in a pyramidal terraced garden for strawberries. Amazingly enough, the price was the same as last year so now to just decide if that is what we want. We also want to look at some rhubarb roots.

The notebook paper and seeds came out to plot the garden. It looks like there will be lots of goodies in the garden, but I’m hoping to freeze and can as much as possible against next winter. It is so nice to pull vegetables and fruit out and not have to break the bank totally to feed DS’s hollow leg. I have some seeds that will need to be started in empty egg cartons this next week: tomatoes, broccoli, cabbage, bell peppers, jalape64os and another hot chili pepper. I also hope to plant the first round of lettuce so the chickens can  have some fresh lettuce before too long.

Tentatively, the following items will be planted: okra, corn, pumpkins, black turtle beans, green beans, green peas, cabbage, broccoli, lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, yellow squash, zucchini squash, potatoes, slicing tomatoes, sauce tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, beets, carrots, onions, bell peppers, jalapeños, chili peppers, and hopefully either crenshaw melons or some kind of cantaloupe. It will mean lots of work like last year, but I’m looking forward to having fresh stuff again. I know the chickens are also looking forward to the “greens” that come out of the garden. I also need to be able to fill the two dozen plus quart jars that are already empty, and refill all the plastic containers to go back in the freezer. It isn’t totally empty yet, but by the time we are ready to start freezing and canning, there will be plenty of jars and containers ready to be filled.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.