Snow again :)

There is just something so beautiful about snow falling and whirling in the wind. This morning we have nice big flakes falling and the temperature is just right for it to stick. Yes, I know most people would be ready for the snow to be gone, but we haven’t gotten a whole lot this year and watching it fall and blanket the ground in a soft cushion of white is soothing and a reminder that God wants to cover our sins with His righteousness!

It is also a reminder that winter hasn’t left yet and I still have knitting projects to finish. There are five more rows on the body of DD’s sweater and then the bottom “hem”. I should be able to get that done this week and hope to start on one of the cabled sleeves. It would be so nice to get the sweater done soon. DD has been extremely patient, but I am now ready for this project to be done.

Center front and lower body cables

Center front and lower body cables

Close-up of cables

Close-up of cables

 

DS’s sock #1 is almost to the toe. I have been taking this in my bag when I go to pick DD up from work and also take it to Pathfinders to knit on while we are waiting on the kids. With no Pathfinders meeting this week, I probably won’t get quite as much done, but I would love to finish this one and cast on #2. Until I can cast on #2, I may have to find another simple/mindless project to put in my bag for knitting on the fly. It will have to be something I can stop in the middle of a row on.

Sock so far

Sock so far

Heel of sock - different construction

Heel of sock – different construction

Ribbing

Ribbing

 

And even though it is still winter, I was able to start plants for the garden last week. Last Wednesday or Thursday, I planted seeds for cherry tomatoes, Roma tomatoes, Beefsteak tomatoes, bell peppers, chili peppers, jalapeño peppers, cabbage, broccoli, sage, catnip, and oregano. These are being started in egg cartons this year in an attempt to make sure that I can transplant them easily. This morning I noticed there is a Roma tomato plant trying to peek through the surface, cabbage plants up, a bell pepper plant and a catnip plant. All are on the top shelf of my little greenhouse and when the get a wee bit bigger I will add a picture. I am hoping that by Mother’s Day they will be nice and sturdy/big and ready for planting in the garden. We are also planning on planting lettuce, carrots, beets, peas, and a couple of other early crops in the garden over spring break at the end of March. I also need to stop by Lowe’s and D&B to see what kind of apple trees they have as we need to get a couple of them planted. As you can see it is a busy time of year.

And lastly for now, we have eight new chicks coming on March 12. There should be four Australorp pullets, three Golden Sex Link pullets, and one Golden Sex Link rooster. DS and I will be busy checking on them every couple of hours and nursing them through the first month or two of growth. When we get them they will only be a day or two old, but they won’t be ready to go in with the older hens. Hopefully by August, they will be laying eggs and doubling what we get so we can meet the requests of DS’s current customer and his brother as well as get a few ourselves. We are also hoping to enlarge his customer base.

Now, I’m off to proctor an Algebra test, fold a load of laundry and check on the batch of bread dough that is rising. Yes, I am almost out of bread and had to make a new batch this morning. I chose to triple my recipe so that I will have 5-6 loaves and not have to make it again for a bit. The house should smell really good when DH wakes up this afternoon! 🙂

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.