Another FO with a fork in it :)

In the interest of keeping up-to-date on FOs, I am pleased to report that DS’s socks were finished today. All of the ends are woven in, last toe kitchnered and the second sock was even modeled, though a bit reluctantly. This is largely due to temperatures in the 90s today and DS preferred the cool breeze on his feet.

Completed second sock

Completed second sock

Heel of sock

Heel of sock

Closeup detail of leg

Closeup detail of leg

To briefly recap, the yarn is an older Knit Picks yarn called “Memories” in the Smores colorway. It is 100% Merino Wool and has been in my stash for a long time. It requires hand washing and drying flat so we’ll have to make sure that happens.

Top view of yarn cake

Top view of yarn cake

Beginning of notes for first sock

Beginning of notes for first sock

Before I go to bed tonight, I hope to cast on a pair of socks for DH. He chose about a year ago when Knit Picks came out with a new fingering weight yarn called “Chroma”, the Regency colorway. We will see how it knits up as it is self striping and more pink and purple than some guys would like. I suspect that he will wear it at home and enjoy it. I will try to use Knit Picks size 1 fixed metal circular needles (40”) to make these socks using the Magic Loop method. Since DD has her AP English Language and Composition final in the morning, it will be a perfect time to get a good start on these.

Tonight I was out in the garden weeding and found that the lettuce is slowly growing (watered it real good), the peas are growing well, the garlic is stretching, the seed onions are growing well, and we have potatoes growing this year. I’m so excited. Tomorrow I hope to plant, zucchini and yellow squash, cucumbers, green beans, black turtle beans, okra, pumpkin, tomatoes, and some other seeds. Hopefully I will remember them all before I plant. I am also hoping to put the pink tea rose in the front flower bed that I put peppers in. Then it will be watering, weeding, and waiting.

Must run get the socks cast on and will have to blog about anything else new tomorrow. Off to sleep for me shortly.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.