Busy as usual (WARNING: lots of pictures!)

Last Saturday, DH and DS went spelunking in a local cave with his youth group. They had a great time and came home dirty, dusty, and very tired. DS used his granddad’s hard hat, but still managed to whack his head a couple of times hard enough to have a pretty good headache when he got home. DD “refused” to go so we stayed home and relaxed before making pizza dough for DS’s birthday celebration with the extended family that night.

Only area in this cave that has light

Only area in this cave that has light

Yesterday, DS turned 13! I no longer have small children living at home. Both kids are teenagers, though DD won’t be one much longer. DS is excited because now he can sit in the front passenger seat of the car and argue with his sister for it. It has been hard for him to wait because he is taller than me! He chose a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream.

Hurry up! I can't wait for my cake. After all, I'm 13 and growing!

Hurry up! I can’t wait for my cake. After all, I’m 13 and growing!

The chickens are growing fast and eating lots. Poor DS has to fill their big feeder frequently, however he is getting plenty of eggs from the older chickens. Our rooster is getting bigger and is mostly white. He tries to crow and it is coming along slowly. He has also taken to “sneaking” up on some of the older hens, much to their frustration. We would like one batch of chicks, however no one seems to be interested in sitting yet so only time will tell.

I really want my "rooster" voice so I can boss this bunch of ladies around!

I really want my “rooster” voice so I can boss this bunch of ladies around!

Who does he think he is? We'll show him who is boss!

Who does he think he is? We’ll show him who is boss!

 

The garden is growing along with all the weeds. I keep trying to get the weeding finished, but something always gets in the way. Yesterday I weeded the section up to the corn. There were four baskets (small pink basket that used to hold potatoes) of weeds pulled and given to the chickens. They were delighted and I was thrilled to get another section done. Shortly after I had to stop weeding for the day, it began to rain and kept at it off and on all afternoon, evening, and night. We were still getting rain this morning off and on so no weeding until this afternoon. I would really like to get the last section weeded and everything fertilized. Everything is growing pretty well and I even found a few tomato plants that I thought were dead! The okra and cucumbers need some warmer weather, but will have to wait until Friday when it should be 99 degrees!

Corn and weeds! My work is cut out for me.

Corn and weeds! My work is cut out for me.

Bell pepper with blossom

Bell pepper with blossom

Slowly growing tomato plant--it needs sunshine and warm days!

Slowly growing tomato plant–it needs sunshine and warm days!

Cabbage--no head yet, but it is growing!

Cabbage–no head yet, but it is growing!

Beets--We'll get both greens and beets to freeze this year.

Beets–We’ll get both greens and beets to freeze this year.

Potatoes

Potatoes

Kale--we're working on acquiring a taste for it.

Kale–we’re working on acquiring a taste for it.

If you look closely there are carrots in the front, peas almost ready to pick, with lettuce behind.

If you look closely there are carrots in the front, peas almost ready to pick, with lettuce behind.

Last night I picked the first batch of kale as we were having guests for supper (helping GPID out with his guests since SIL wasn’t home to cook). I made this salad at the suggestion of one of my older sisters, and it turned out pretty good. Only the kids complained, and not really hard. I sent two quart-size baggies of cleaned kale with GPID’s guests to take in their camper and they were delighted. DH made a nutri-loaf/pickle relish/mayonnaise spread to go on the fresh dill buttermilk bread that he baked on Sunday and we topped the meal off with chocolate chip zucchini muffins.

After everyone left and DH went to work last night, I mixed up a batch of energy cookies and baked them off. We were completely out and since they are very good for DH’s cholesterol and heart, I needed to get another batch made. We’re all good now for a while.

Today not only do I need to weed, but I need to pick the peas and go over to GPID’s and pick the rest of the tart cherries. That will keep me busy!

That’s pretty much all that’s been happening. I hope to get the weeding and picking done SOON as well as some sewing and knitting. Hmmm…guess I had better get off the computer and get busy, eh? 🙂

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.