Happy 4th of July! (picture heavy post)

Ok, I believe I wrote earlier that since it was summer, I was going to take a hiatus and only blog VERY occasionally. That is so not the case. For a week or so I didn’t blog very much, but there is lots happening and much to blog about so of course I have been writing.

First of all, happy 4th of July to everyone! It hasn’t pushed past 90 degrees yet so this is a particularly happy 4th. Earlier this week my car told me it reached 111 and another thermometer read 112 so we are very grateful not only that it is a holiday but that it feels cool.

The trenches were dug in the garden last night and finished out this morning. Putting the first round of water in them takes while because you have to make sure that they are level enough to keep the water flowing to the end of the rows. You also have to wait while the ground soaks up everything until the sides of the trenches are a bit solid. The next time we fill the trenches with water it will go faster.

Having a good method for watering provides the plants with what they need so we can have what we want. Proof of that was in the improvement of the growth of the lettuce, a small bell pepper growing, two jalapeno peppers, and blossoms on beans, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, etc. Here’s the proof:

This year's first bell pepper

This year’s first bell pepper

Blossoms on green beans

Blossoms on green beans

Blossoms on jalapeno plant and a jalapeno that I didn't see until I looked at the picture.

Blossoms on jalapeno plant and a jalapeno that I didn’t see until I looked at the picture.

The jalapeno I knew about and blossoms for more

The jalapeno I knew about and blossoms for more

Okra plants--YAY!!!

Okra plants–YAY!!!

The corn is getting taller.

The corn is getting taller.

Tomato blossoms--can't wait until we get tomatoes!

Tomato blossoms–can’t wait until we get tomatoes!

The broccoli is getting there. I wonder if I will get a head or two?

The broccoli is getting there. I wonder if I will get a head or two?

Peas picked this morning. They have been shelled and frozen.

Peas picked this morning. They have been shelled and frozen.

The kids really didn’t want to shell peas, it’s a holiday after all! But we got them done while Scooter played with a paper sack:

"Did I hear my name? It's too much fun under here to come out."

“Did I hear my name? It’s too much fun under here to come out.”

Tonight for supper we will have veggie burgers, potato salad, vegetarian baked beans, sour cream and onion potato chips, and a peach crisp. Then it is off to see fireworks while poor DH goes to work!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.