He thinks he is handsome :)

Finally a picture of the second rooster–remember, the one that wasn’t supposed to be a rooster? He is quite handsome though. I particularly like the sparkly emerald of his tail feathers even if they are hard to photograph.

This is my best side!

This is my best side!

I think he will be the dominant rooster as he is quite bossy! This morning when we were outside, the two roosters were “growling” at each other which we hadn’t heard before.  With everyone almost full size, the flock and pecking order has been pretty much worked out for now. It will be nice if someone decides to sit on eggs, though.

Yum! Weeds again! So glad they keep growing and the silly humans don't want them!

Yum! Weeds again! So glad they keep growing and the silly humans don’t want them!

The weeding between the garden and the fence is all done. We cleared the last section this morning before breakfast. Now to keep it clear until the fall when the garden is done and we can spray to kill anything still there. Our hope is to put landscaping timbers or concrete block (my preference as we can plant flowers like marigolds in the cavities) on that edge of the garden and put down gravel or wood chips for a walkway that doesn’t have to be mowed. There is still “spot” weeding to be done from time to time in the garden and one more section to be done in the front next to where the alyssum is growing nicely.

Blossoms are opening on the yellow squash and the bell pepper is getting bigger (no good picture of pepper).

Soon we will have squash!

Soon we will have squash!

The cabbages are starting to form heads which will be great for the chickens.

The center is starting to form.

The center is starting to form.

Tomorrow morning DD, DS, and I will pull and process part of the beets and the beet greens. The kids are NOT excited about the greens, although DS said he would try them. DD informed me that I was not to get “foo foo” on them! I told her that beet greens were a southern dish, whereupon she informed me, “We are no longer in the south, Mom!” When I told DH with a laugh, he was also amused and suggested that I ask her how her fried okra fit into all that as it is most definitely a southern dish. 🙂

I will leave you with one last picture of our chickens–a golden sex link hen to be specific!

I might be laying an egg behind a board on the ground.

I might be laying an egg behind a board on the ground.

Yes, one of our “babies” is laying small “beginner” eggs behind a board slanted against the fence in the chicken pen. I don’t know if it is a golden sex link or a black Astralorp, as I haven’t caught them in the “act”. It has to be one of them because the eggs are smaller which is what happens sometimes at first. I’m thrilled that they are starting to lay as we’ll have more eggs again and can consider adding a customer in the near future.

Now I’m off to read and hopefully finish a book while crocheting a small afghan out of scraps of yarn. The sewing of a dress that I cut out for DD will have to wait until she decides whether it will have short sleeves or be sleeveless. Hopefully the sewing can commence tomorrow. Until then, happy crafting, gardening, and freezing ahead!

 

 

 

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.