Dead batteries

Just when I dared to think we were past the crisis of car repairs, DH’s car decided that the battery would “officially” die! Up until this afternoon, it had been running with the replacement of the alternator, but when DH went out to run a quick errand for rubber tubing for the windshield wiper reservoir to nozzle sprayer, the car refused to start. It was too close to time to pick up DD from work so on the way to pick her up, I stopped by Les Schwab and picked up a new battery. Thanks to their usual careful help and excellent customer service, we got the one we needed the first time. It seems there are two different sizes but only one price. As usual Les Schwab came through for us once again! After supper DH and DS installed the new one and he is up and running again. Hopefully this is the last work to be done other than the rubber tubing that still needs to be picked up. Thankfully, it doesn’t look like any rain is in the immediate forecast.

Speaking of “dead” batteries, mine are almost out of “juice” tonight. After a morning spent on my feet canning and baking, my leg muscles above my knees are so very sore. I’m tired and bedtime is looking really tempting. This afternoon, I spent some more time pitting and prepping apricots for dryer. I also cut the tops off a box of strawberries that were VERY ripe and after cutting them in half, added them to the dryer. The house smells luscious right now from this combination. Tomorrow morning I hope to have my “batteries” recharged and be ready to can five gallons of apricots before noon. Wish me luck!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.