The end of….

…the end of the first week of school. DD likes college a lot better than high school. She has attended both of her on-campus classes and likes the teachers. These classes are what they call “hybrids” which means she attends lectures on the campus, but completes her work and submits it online. She has also been working on her two online classes. The online aspect is very familiar territory. She is also pushing herself to finish learning how to drive and to take her test before the 22nd of next month. I’m so glad she feels good about life.

It's only 30.8 lbs--less than 25% of his weight.

It’s only 30.8 lbs–less than 25% of his weight.

DS left yesterday to go backpacking after finishing up the last bits of schoolwork. It’s his first backpacking trip. The pack and sleeping bag are borrowed but we hope to get him his own someday. Maybe Christmas and/or birthday? In school most of his classes are okay except he feels like there is a lot of busy-work. The class that will challenge him the most is Chinese. Hopefully he will persevere and succeed.

I’m very grateful for a quiet weekend after a very busy week. I’ve spent a lot of time in the car either driving or copiloting while DD works on her driving. Because of this I have managed to finish this pair of socks:

Started July 19, 2011 and finished August 30, 2013

Started July 19, 2011 and finished August 30, 2013

These socks do not match. They are made from a cotton self-striping yarn. The pattern is “Undertow”. While they are knitted toe up, which is not one of my favorite ways to knit socks, it worked for these. I had two balls of this yarn. Because it was cotton, I put a long ribbing at the top to try and help them stay up. I just kept knitting until I ran out of yarn on each sock. This pattern is fairly easy to stitch up. he only changes I made were to substitute an Eye of Partridge heel and I used Jeny’s surprisingly stretchy bind off found here. Everything else is as written. With the weather starting to cool just a bit, I’m pulling the yarn and barely started sock WIP out to work on again and see if I can finish them.

Top view of yarn cake

Top view of yarn cake

Next up I finished my granny square blanket. Being the busy person that I have been this week, I didn’t take a picture before storing it away until I start wrapping for Christmas. I did take a picture of the third one that I started right after. This will be the final one for now.

White center and lightest shade of blue

White center and lightest shade of blue

This one is all shades of blue with a white center. There are several variegated blues that will be worked in according to their shades. As on the last blanket, I’m working from lightest to darkest shades.

Remember the “powdered” onions? Here’s a picture of the jar:

Not quite a full pint but plenty for now

Not quite a full pint but plenty for now

There are Sweet 100 cherry tomatoes in two trays of the food dryer. I had more than we could keep up with and I don’t need to can tomato juice as we still have plenty from last year, so I cut the really ripe ones in half, layered them on the trays, sprayed with canola oil, sprinkled with crushed oregano leaves, and one tray was sprinkled with plain salt and the other with onion salt. When they are dry, we will either grind them up like the onions above and make a powder or we will save them to use in various recipes that call for sun-dried tomatoes–such as pizzas and focaccia breads.

And finally I have to show you Scooter’s favorite lounging spot:

My vantage point on the piano bench. I'm sure no one can see me here.

My vantage point on the piano bench. I’m sure no one can see me here.

He loves to sprawl on the bench and take his naps. Next month he will be one year old and he’s certainly grown into a big cat. He still loves to play, but also loves to sprawl in various places to nap or watch what’s happening.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.