More busyness…

Yes, I spelled it that way on purpose. I have been very busy this week and am so glad it is the weekend. Today wasn’t any slower than any of the rest of the days.

First off, we are getting lots of tomatoes. I filled four dryer trays with halved Sweet 100 tomatoes and ran the dryer until they were dry. Then I bagged the dried tomatoes.  I am hoping to put them in the blender eventually and make a nice flavored powder out of them.

One quart of dried cherry tomatoes

One quart of dried cherry tomatoes

In the following picture, the tomatoes on the left and right were picked tonight before sundown. I get quite a few every day, but now will wait until Sunday for DH, DS, and DD to pick.

Please ignore the stuff behind the tomatoes on the counter.

Please ignore the stuff behind the tomatoes on the counter.

Lots of Sweet 100 cherry tomatoes and a gallon bag of Roma tomatoes were cooked with home grown onions and jalapeños, as well as spices, sugar, and vinegar to make salsa. Two cans of tomato paste were also added and when everything had simmered for 30 minutes, I filled nine pint jars, added lids and boiled the lot in my big canner for 20 minutes. There was a wee bit left that we will try later. I am hoping to fill lots of pint and quart jars with salsa and homemade catsup.

Yummy salsa!

Yummy salsa!

While the salsa was simmering and then boiling in a water bath, I mixed up two 1-lb loaves of Dillweed Buttermilk Bread for sharing with family tomorrow night. I’m anxious to see how it tastes.

This recipe is from a book that  tried a couple of others out of.

This recipe is from a book that tried a couple of others out of.

And lastly is a picture of the okra that I picked tonight. Right now we are picking just over 1/2 quart of okra to pick, slice, and freeze each day. I know that doesn’t sound like much, but it is lots more than what we did last year.

 

Fresh okra waiting to be sliced.

Fresh okra waiting to be sliced.

The crochet blanket has grown but there is no picture yet to show. No new stitches were added to it today. A few rows have been added to a sock I am carrying around, but also no picture. For now I’m headed off to get some sleep.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.