Harvest, killdeer, not enough time…

No matter how fast I go, or how hard I work, there are never enough hours in the day. Do you ever burn the candle at both ends and even in the middle and still have more to do, but you have to stop and drop into bed to get up and repeat the whole process again the next day? That’s what is happening here for me right now.Yesterday, I woke up at 4 am and worked my usual 12 1/2 hour shift but this time, I had a meeting afterwards. Thankfully I didn’t have to drive very far to get to the meeting. I met DH and several other coordinators for the youth groups in our state to complete planning for our next major event and to finalize our budget. The meeting was productive but didn’t end until 10 pmish and then DH and I chatted with the director for another 20-30 minutes about some concerns. After a short drive home–talking to my parents on the phone while driving, I came home to laundry needing to be finished, supper needed to be made for DH and I and two kids needed to go to bed. They were still up. Unfortunately the late bedtime translated into a hard time getting out of bed this morning.

This morning I had to pick the garden because it wasn’t picked yesterday. This included picking the corn and pulling up the stalks to feed to the chickens. We didn’t get a huge amount, but tonight I blanched 14 ears and froze them as well as blanched some partials and pieces that I cut the corn off of. The cut corn gave me about 3/4 of a pint to freeze.

Our corn crop

Our corn crop

While I like knowing what goes into our vegetables, I don’t think I’ll grow corn again next year. We don’t get a whole lot for the space it takes in the garden. I plan to budget money to purchase corn from a market or individual next year. I know that my back is sore from pulling up the stalks. At least the chickens can pick through the stalks and discarded underdeveloped ears for a day or two.

I also picked some okra and plenty of tomatoes. The okra was frozen and by the end of this week I will have to make another batch of salsa. I also may make some catsup out of the cherry tomatoes as we are getting quite a few. I do know a friend of ours as well as DSIL will take a bunch off our hands this weekend, but we will still have plenty.

More okra

More okra

Lots of cherry tomatoes

Lots of cherry tomatoes

Roma and beefsteak tomatoes that need to ripen as well as one bell pepper.

Roma and beefsteak tomatoes that need to ripen as well as one bell pepper.

More cherry tomatoes that need to finish ripening

More cherry tomatoes that need to finish ripening

When I came in, I happened to look out the back door after changing clothes. Running across the backyard were two killdeer. Here are a couple of pictures, but you have to look close. I was taking my shots through the screen door.

"I'm trying to hide in the unmowed weeds."

“I’m trying to hide in the unmowed weeds.”

The killdeer running across the yard.

The killdeer running across the yard.

We have seen more killdeer around this area this summer. No nest has been discovered, however.

And finally, I cooked a pot of steel cut oats and put them in the muffin tin in the freezer tonight. Hopefully they will be ready for breakfast in the morning. We like to take a couple out, microwave them in a bowl, then add flax seed, raisins, and brown sugar. Nutritious AND tasty!

Now I’m off to bed to get some much needed sleep as morning comes early. Thanks for checking in to see what is happening in our corner of the world.

 

 

 

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.