It’s cold outside

Even though the temperature hasn’t quite dropped to 32 degrees overnight, it has become significantly colder. We went from great fall temperatures to the need to wear a coat. Yesterday we had a wind that made it seem about 37 degrees all day even though we did get to 62 degrees. This morning, it was 66 degrees in the house. I turned on the furnace to make sure that it works as we have had challenges in that area in the past. It also gave me an opportunity to reprogram the thermostat to slightly cooler temperatures so we don’t have it going a lot. As the day warmed up, I turned the furnace off but I may slip it back on tonight since we are supposed to get down to 28-32 degrees. I can’t wait until the bill for the refrigerator is fully paid and we can look into a newer, more efficient furnace/air conditioner unit. Hopefully the hard winter that is being predicted isn’t  bad as they think it will be. I can’t stick my head in the sand though as the cat’s fur is VERY thick and it’s colder much earlier than in previous years. I have a feeling we will be very glad for all the fruit and vegetables in the freezer and jars.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.