Interruptions

Once again the granny square blanket is not getting as much done on it as I would like. The next to last color, white is almost done and then I just have the navy blue. It will be nice to have this project done.

So what has interrupted my work? Several things. First of al, I cut some parsley to use in cooking the other day and when I didn’t need it all, I chose to leave the remainder in a bowl on the counter. Because we have a high pressure system over us it has been dry which caused the parsley to dry without the benefit of the food dryer. As you can see n this picture, we are not too far from tuning it into parsley flakes.

Drying parsley

Drying parsley

I am hoping that we can pick the rest of the parsley, sage, catnip, and maybe even some rosemary. Of course, I would love to get cuttings of each started in the house over the winter. I also want to start some basil and oregano over the winter.

DS has requested some fingerless gloves which has also interrupted my crocheting. I don’t have pictures of my progress yet, but maybe I’ll get some next weekend. I’m using brown fisherman’s wool and size 7 circular bamboo needles. I’m still on the first one since I just started today.

And finally, the rosehips needed to be processed into jelly before they spoiled. After cleaning them and removing the stems, I put the rosehips in a large glass pan and started boiling them.

Mashed rosehips

Mashed rosehips

After one hour of simmering, I mashed hem up with a potato masher and put the entire mess into four layers of cheesecloth and set it aside to drain into a bowl for an hour. Unfortunately I didn’t get a whole lot so following this recipe, I added additional water to seep through it. I also tried to squeeze out as much of the juice out into the bowl.

Tonight after supper, I boiled the juice along with lemon juice and pectin. Once that was cooked an boiling, I added sugar and butte. After the two pint jars and the 1/2 pint jar I filled were ready, they went into a canner to be water bathed for 10 minutes.

Fresh rosehip jelly!

Fresh rosehip jelly!

Now to wait for 2+ weeks before trying so it can set up. Patience is something I have to work on, DS and I re most anxious to see how this tastes.

Now it’s off to bed for me as I am dreadfully tired. Hopefully I will have more news soon.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.