Crazy cat

This morning since I knew I was not going to be able to pick apples because DS as sick, I decided to go harvest some of my herbs, wash them, and begin to dry them in the food dryer. I picked a bit of rosemary, the larger sage leaves, quite a bit of parsley, and then some catnip for the cat. When I came in to wash everything and load the dryer, Scooter happened to be in the kitchen when I put the catnip in the sink full of water to wash it. Some of the residue from the blossoms fell on the floor. Naturally Scooter had to investigate and see what I was doing. One whiff and he was all over it.

He then proceeded to smell my pant legs and try to attack them because they smelled like catnip. I pulled out the dry catnip and sprinkled some on his scratching piece. With a vengeance, he attacked it, dumped it over, I sat it to rights and he attacked it again.

Someday soon I'll have to get a new one.

Someday soon I’ll have to get a new one.

I decided that I would go ahead and cut the herbs off the stems and load the dryer. From what I picked this morning, I ended up with one tray of sage leaves, one tray of rosemary, and two trays of parsley. The catnip will be dried later when these herbs are done as I only have four trays.

Catnip draining. In the next couple of days I'll dry it.

Catnip draining. In the next couple of days I’ll dry it.

 

Sage leaves

Sage leaves

Rosemary-- didn't pick too much because the plant is still somewhat small and I hope it make it through the winter.

Rosemary– didn’t pick too much because the plant is still somewhat small and I hope it make it through the winter.

These parsley leaves were divided into two trays that were crammed full. There is still more I could pick, but we'll see how much this makes.

These parsley leaves were divided into two trays that were crammed full. There is still more I could pick, but we’ll see how much this makes.

The food dryer in action.

The food dryer in action.

The recommended temperature for herbs is 95°. Wonder how long it will take to dry them?

The recommended temperature for herbs is 95°. Wonder how long it will take to dry them?

While I was loading the trays, the silly cat came over and proceeded to rub all over me, try to eat my shoes and scratch my pants off me. He really liked the smell of the fresh catnip. Then he went to sleep it off finally while the herbs dried and I fixed lunch. It was interesting to see how “crazy” the fresh catnip made him. I told him that I might have to limit his exposure since he really gets a bit wild around it.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.