“There is sunshine in my soul today.”

The last two days the sun has been shining and we have had fairly nice weather. The temperatures have been in the mid to upper 50s during the day with upper 20s to low 30s at night. Today it is sunny again and supposed to reach 60°. If everything goes well, I hope to get outside and enjoy the sunshine, even if that means raking leaves again.

To catch up, the apples are still in the garage keeping cool. I must find my Victorio and start making applesauce this week. I had to laugh at myself when I went grocery shopping last Friday. I am so used to picking out a dozen or so apples to bring home along with six pears each week. Each night when DH goes to work, I slice one pear and one apple for him to snack on. This is what the doctor suggested as part of his regimen to combat cholesterol issues. The Gala apples were $.98 per pound so I began to pick through the apples to find ones that didn’t have bruises or bad spots. Then I stopped and laughed because I didn’t need to buy apples this time. My garage has six 5-gallon buckets of apples that we gleaned for this purpose and for making applesauce. Feeling a bit silly and slightly embarrassed, even though no one knew what I had almost done, I quickly went over to the pears and picked out the usual six and put them in my cart. After finishing my shopping, I went on my way, glad that no one knew how silly I was.

The fall-colored blanket is slowly getting done. If you remember, I had found three more colors to add. I could have left it alone, but I am trying to use up my stash of acrylic yarn. The next to the last color is almost done and then I will add the chocolate brown. I know the larger size will be appreciated by the recipient of this blanket.

So that’s all for now. We’re off to the races of completing classwork and whatever tasks come our way. I mustn’t forget to put the potatoes in their box so DH can cover them with plastic for protection against the elements. They will stay outside so my apples don’t spoil too soon. I hope that everyone has a great and productive week.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.