On and off the needles/crochet hook

It has been a busy but productive week. I’m so glad that Sabbath is here. Very soon we will head off in the rain to church services. Thankfully it is only rain because DH said it snowed at his work last night. He brought home pictures on his phone as proof. With a slightly higher elevation where he works, the rain turns to snow more often. He was thankful for the snow tires when he left to come home early this morning.

Before we head off, I have a bit of time while my hot curlers are cooling in my hair to post my progress in the crochet and knitting department. First off, I was able to finally get a picture of the finished granny square blanket in shades of blue.

Finished blanket #2

Finished blanket #2

Yesterday I finished adding the last skein of color to the fall-colored granny square blanket. Now it is also done.

Finished blanket #3

Finished blanket #3

Now I only have one bright red skein of acrylic yarn to do something with and all of my acrylic yarn that can be made into blankets will be used up. I’m thinking about knitting a beret-style hat for my niece with it. I will be so glad to have all of that yarn put to good use and out of my stash.

Finishing up those blankets allowed me to get back to DS’s fingerless mitten #1. I made a bit of progress last night before my eyes refused to stay open any longer.

Front of mitten

Front of mitten

Close up of back of mitten

Close up of back of mitten

I’m almost to the thumb. These actually are going quickly but I haven’t had a lot of time to work on them. They will be nice and long to cover his wrist and tuck up into coat or hoodie arms.

My carry in my bag project is finally nearing the heel flap. These are Sailor Rib Socks from More Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch. I have one more round and then hopefully the heel, followed by the foot. This yarn is Chroma by Knit Picks. It is soft, but more splitty than I like for knitting socks. However, DH liked the colors since he will only wear these at home so I’m trying to get them made. I have a feeling that I need to work on them at home because DD may just decide one of these days to drive herself to and from school and work.

Leg of sock #1

Leg of sock #1

Close up of stitching--I love the look of these stitches and they are easy to memorize.

Close up of stitching–I love the look of these stitches and they are easy to memorize.

I have another pair of socks that were frogged because they became to small for DS, but there is no picture of them. He had not worn a hole in them so I have a chance to reknit them larger.

I also want to start several plain dishcloths for gifts and to replenish my own stock. I’m going to use a simple pattern this time, even though it is fun to try new ones. Lastly, I have been feeling the urge to go through my crochet thread stash passed down from my great grandmother and my grandmother on my mom’s side. I’m thinking that I need to get some of that knitted and crocheted up, potentially for fancy Christmas gifts. I have crochet hooks and knitting needles in the right sizes (I think) so need to get busy on that project. After all, it felt really good to use up the acrylic yarn so I can only assume that it will feel good to use up the thread. Keep checking back for news on that front! There may not be pictures if I want to give for Christmas gifts, but I will let you know for progress’s sake.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.