Little Things

Last week was busy. Another batch of applesauce was put up. There are 12-14 quart jars yet to be filled and they will be completed this week.

Knitting has kicked up another notch since the blankets are done. I am still knitting on DS’s fingerless mittens. Hopefully they will get finished soon. A ladybug tam has been completed for my niece and there was enough red yarn to make a pair of simple fingerless mittens for her. The first mitten is almost to the thumb gusset.

Ladybug Tam

Ladybug Tam

The red is a lot brighter than in this picture. I hope she still likes ladybugs like she used to. This will be tucked away for Christmas. She loves handmade knits and clothes, but her mom is very busy so doesn’t always have time to make things for her. She has crocheted and sewn some outfits for DN’s dolls and they are treasured.

Sourdough starter that is 1 1/2 weeks old.

Sourdough starter that is 1 1/2 weeks old.

The sourdough starter is doing well. I’m keeping it on the counter and baking with it every 1-2 days. Yesterday I made two loaves of sourdough French bread and this morning I made sourdough biscuits for breakfast. It will be fed tomorrow, but not used again until Monday. Earlier in the week I made three loaves of sourdough white and whole wheat flour bread for toast and sandwiches.

Two loaves sourdough French bread

Two loaves sourdough French bread

Leftover sourdough biscuits

Leftover sourdough biscuits

 

I just realized I am going backwards through this last week. A week ago yesterday (Friday before last), it was my turn to make dessert for Saturday night dinner, along with a casserole. I found a recipe to use up some of the Pink Lady apples. The Old-fashioned Apple Cake with Boiled Brown Sugar Frosting was eaten quickly.

Yum!

Yum!

At the recommendation of a blog I was reading, I only made 1/2 the recipe of frosting. They were right–it was plenty and more would have been too much!

Next Thursday is Thanksgiving. The menu has been determined, the groceries bought. Wednesday afternoon I will have to get busy on my list of dishes. Thankfully, DH will make the rolls and DSIL will be helping with part of the menu. It looks like there will be at least nine of us so it should be lots of fun. If I cook ahead, I won’t have to rush at the last minute as I have a 4-hour holiday shift from 11:30 am to 3:30 pm to complete at work. It will be lovely to come home and spend time with family that evening. And DH has the whole week off for vacation so he won’t have to rush off to work that night. YAY!!!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.