Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to all my readers in the US and greetings to all who read my blog! This week has been busy despite it being DH’s vacation and tomorrow we will spend time with his family after I put in a four-hour holiday shift at work. DD has also had this week off from school and she even managed to make sure all of her work was done by sundown last Friday so she wouldn’t have to think about schoolwork this week. She did, however have to work Monday through Wednesday, but that didn’t seem to dampen her spirits. She really loves her job. DS had two days of school (Monday and Tuesday) but no live sessions so he worked hard and completed all his work as well.

A not-so-innocent Scooter

A not-so-innocent Scooter

This lazy bum went to bed early tonight. Doesn’t he look innocent? Well he is definitely NOT innocent! While we were all in the bedroom watching two or three old YouTube videos, he decided that my basket of knitting would become his play area. DS found him next to the “evidence” and quickly informed me that I needed to “come here right now, Mom”. I was in the middle of mixing the filling for my pecan pie, but DS was quite insistent. Thankfully, nothing was off the needles, but my projects were moved, a black cake of yarn tossed outside the basket and onto the floor and a partially started project of a fingerless mitten for my niece was pulled out of the basket and across the floor. When I came over to investigate, he decided to take off before I was able to pick him up. After a short chase into DS’s room, Scooter thought I couldn’t see him in the dark room. I walked up with my feet on each side of him, reached down and picked him up and took him back to the scene of the “crime”. After pushing his nose into the yarn so he would know what he was being punished for, I gave him a good swat and then took him off to his room for the night. He’s not very happy even though when I went in later, he purred really loud. He’s still not getting out until morning. He has food, water, his litter box, and his scratchy pad. He’ll just have to contemplate his behavior and hopefully not repeat it for awhile, if ever.

My part of the Thanksgiving dinner for tomorrow evening is dressing, pecan pie, apple pie, candied yams, fried okra (GPID’s request), and jellied cranberry sauce. I don’t mind whole berry cranberry sauce, but DS and DD won’t touch it. They always ask for the jellied, so I’ll take a can of it tomorrow. DH still has his rolls to mix, rise, and bake off, and tomorrow morning I will need to make the dressing before I head to work at 11:30. I also will need to cut up the marshmallows into smaller pieces to top off the candied yams. Here’s a picture of the pies that I made.

Pecan pie for GPID, DS, and I. Not too many others will eat it. :(

Pecan pie for GPID, DS, and I. Not too many others will eat it. 😦

Apple pie sitting in iron skillet to cool.

Apple pie sitting in iron skillet to cool.

I also sliced up the remaining Granny Smith apples into a sprayed dish, added sugar, flour, nutmeg, cinnamon and bits of butter before covering with a small piece of pie crust dough. It tasted great, but the Granny Smith apples cooked into a texture like applesauce. They didn’t hold up very well, but tasted really good. The crust on top was flaky, so hopefully my other crusts will be good.

We will also have turkey, whole berry homemade cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, mashed potatoes and gravy all made by my DSIL. One of her friends who will be joining us for Thanksgiving dinner will be bringing steamed broccoli and carrots as well as some appetizers. I somehow don’t think we will go hungry. Not everyone will eat turkey, but GPID informed us that he purchased an organic turkey from Costco that DSIL will be cooking.

Cleaned jar with fed sourdough starter

Cleaned jar with fed sourdough starter

This morning I needed to address the sourdough starter as I knew I might not use it for a day or two. The jar was over half full and also needed to be scrubbed out. Because I didn’t want to lose my starter which is a really good one this time, I first made sourdough pancakes for breakfast. This time, unlike the first time, the sourdough caused the whole recipe to “foam up” and I didn’t have to add any extra flour. The family enjoyed them. The remaining starter I poured into a clear glass bowl and fed it. The jar was filled with hot soapy water and allowed to soak. After soaking for a bit, I scrubbed and scrubbed until it was all nice and clean again. Then I rinsed it out with very hot water and left it to dry out as well as cool. I didn’t want to put the starter back in the jar and have the heat “kill” it. Once it was dry and cool, I poured the fed starter back into the jar and covered it with cheese cloth. It seems to be fine, but we will keep it “fed” and see how it goes. Friday when I go grocery shopping (not the Black Friday shopping), I am going to pick up rye flour because DS wants me to either try to make a rye sourdough bread, or a pumpernickel bread. IF I decide to make a rye starter, I will just put it in a wide mouth quart jar because I don’t plan on making a lot of rye bread, so figure I don’t need to have so much starter. I have to say that I am a lot happier with my current flour and water starter versus the previous starter that had yeast and yogurt in it. This one is easier to keep healthy and I don’t worry about leaving it out on the counter.

The chickens have cut back a bit on egg laying with the continued colder weather. We also have 1-2 of them that are molting. To try and help them, I let DS feed them the leftover pancakes from breakfast and I fed them the peelings and cores from the apples that I used in the pies.

Mitten in front is finished except for weaving in ends. Mitten in back is partway complete.

Mitten in front is finished except for weaving in ends. Mitten in back is partway complete.

Lastly, just a quick update on my knitting. I finally finished the first fingerless mitten for DS. It goes almost to his elbow, but he loves it because he says it keeps him warm. The second one is started, but I won’t get to knit on it until after this post goes up. Even then, it may have to wait until DH gets his rolls mixed up and rising. I have to form them out and then he will bake them off. Guess it may be a bit of a long night—or short depending on which way you think about it. Still, it will be worth it. Now to just stay awake to finish up and then get enough rest to work tomorrow.]

Again, happy Thanksgiving to all. Take a few minutes tomorrow to recount/recall what you are thankful for. I know that despite long hours and little sleep, I’m so very thankful for my family. I’m thankful that God blessed me with a husband who loves me despite myself, kids who love me, even when they don’t want to do what they are told to. I’m so very thankful that DH, DD, and I have jobs and we have a roof over our heads with plenty of food on the table. God has blessed us and I am thankful that I can serve Him and know that He will always be there, no matter what!

Now I had better take the socks out of the soak and hang them somewhere to dry! Off I go to get something done!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.