Rye Sourdough Starter and WIP

DS wanted some pumpernickel bread so I chose to try a sourdough starter. Since rye flour is heavier, I thought this might help to lighten it. I wasn’t sure how the starter would go as I used the same recipe as before: Mix 1/4 cup flour with 1/4 cup water and pour into glass jar. I had a nice large peanut butter jar that was thoroughly cleaned out, allowed to dry and then the starter was poured in. Ever 12 hours I added 1/2 cup rye flour and 1/2 cup tap water and whisked the whole mixture.

Five-day-old rye starter

Five-day-old rye starter

After two days my starter was bubbling nicely and my jar was filling up so I made a medium sized loaf of bread. Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures. The recipe did not call for caraway seeds so it is just a nice hearty sourdough. I am now feeding it with 1/4 cup of rye flour and 1/4 cup of water so  don’t get too much to use as I still have the jar of regular starter as well.

With the cold temperatures and Christmas fast approaching, I have been trying to work on gifts. DH’s ex-BIL still visits for Christmas and always likes a new pair of wool socks. Here’s a picture of the first one still in progress. I’m now almost 2″ up the leg.

Thankfully worsted weight wool works up fast.

Thankfully worsted weight wool works up fast.

Yarn: 100% worsted weight Fisherman’s Wool from Joann Fabrics

Needles: Size 4 dpns

Pattern: K3, p1 ribbing on top of foot and entire leg, stockinette stitch on bottom of foot, heel-flap with 3 stitch garter stitch edge

Sock Size: 10 (They take awhile to knit.)

I started them on December 4 so hopefully I will get them completed soon.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.