The heat is on :(

The heat is indeed on and so is the nasty electricity bill. However, today we have seen the temperature rise to 33 ° which might help a bit. The windchill is 14° though. After seeing the nasty bill, I lowered the programmed temperature during the day to 66° in the house to see if that would help. We haven’t even gotten to January yet.

When we were investigating for mice behind the stove the other day, DH captured these pictures of Scooter:

Mommy sure needs to clean her floor again. Wonder what this tastes like?

Mommy sure needs to clean her floor again. Wonder what this tastes like?

Hmmm...wonder I  have the beginnings of a skunk impersonation? That might scare a mouse, eh?

Hmmm…wonder I have the beginnings of a skunk impersonation? That might scare a mouse, eh?

He just had to be in the big middle of everything. Of course, we didn’t totally discourage him from being involved because we really wanted him to catch the mouse!

Yesterday, I made my first ever biscotti. I have always wanted to make it, but just never tried. Since I needed some for part of a Christmas gift for a particularly challenging recipient, I decided I finally had the perfect excuse to make some. After looking at the ingredients in the cupboard and investigating all manner of biscotti recipes, I finally used this one with some variations. I didn’t have quite a cup of whole wheat flour so I made up the difference with rye flour. I also didn’t have very much ground ginger, but used what I had and added that to my grocery list. We tried the ends of the logs before slicing and declared they were good. Here’s some pictures:

Cooling biscotti

Cooling biscotti

This should be good with tea or coffee. Yum!

This should be good with tea or coffee. Yum!

For the last week or so we have had inversion with gray skies and old snow. It was starting to get hard to breathe and keeping the house warm was a challenge, hence the aforementioned nasty bill. Last night we had a light dusting—1/4-1/2”—of snow and a cool front that started pushing the inversion along with the wind. The nicest part of this is that they sprayed the road with the beet juice mixture and it actually seemed to work and we have seen blue sky and sunshine today.

Glorious blue sky!

Glorious blue sky! The snow has blown away in spots.

Finals continued for DD this morning and DS took all five of his in 1 ¾ hours. I had coached him on taking three today and two tomorrow, however he decided to just get rid of them. We’ll see what his grades are like. DD has one more tomorrow morning. While she is taking it, I will take DS to do his Christmas shopping, fill the car with gas and shop for a few groceries. I hadn’t planned too much these two days because the “Mom Taxi” was going to be busy.  I just stuffed a ball of knitting attached to a project in my bag and headed off to take them all over the area. Thankfully their scheduled tests actually meshed pretty well so no one had to wait very long. Next week there will be no work for DD and no work or school for DD or DS. Instead we’ll relax, get ready for Christmas and indulge in a bit of Christmas baking and cooking.

And yes, the tree is up, but the light hasn’t been good for taking pictures. Here’s the best one:

Oh, Christmas Tree! (with mauve curtains and a sheet the cat messed up)

Oh, Christmas Tree! (with mauve curtains and a sheet the cat messed up)

The chickens are really enjoying the sunshine despite the windy cold. Thankfully all but one of our chickens generally do really well in the cold. We have been getting 6-12 eggs per day which is amazing. When DS went out to feed them and check on them, they gathered around to see what he had.

The faithful chicken caretaker

The faithful chicken caretaker

DS and part of his flock

DS and part of his flock

Here’s hoping that wherever you are, you are staying warm and getting ready for Christmas! I’m off to try and finish another gift.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.