Pea Soup and Gusset

Today was busy with cleaning DH’s corner of the bedroom where his computer is. He was in training after working all night so I could clean without disturbing him. Now he’s sleeping after being up for over 24 hours. My hope is that he doesn’t get sick again.

I was also able to finish the heel flap, turn the heel, and pick up the gusset stitches on sock #2. Still no picture, but I’m pleased with the progress. I did have to start using the second skein, but it will work out okay.

“Pea soup” is really my reference to the dense fog that DS and I had to travel through tonight to get to his youth group meeting. A drive that we had down to 30-35 minutes took 45-50 minutes to get there and 45-50 minutes to return. It was disturbing to see how many people were driving in the fog without their headlights on. That was scary or me and I just prayed that driving home tonight after 8 pm through even denser fog that I wouldn’t run into someone. Sometimes I had to go 25-30 mph as you couldn’t even see 1/8 of a mile. DS was praying and trying to help me see any cars and the edge of the road. I was just trying to drive by watching the white stripe on the side of the road. A few times it disappeared and I prayed that I wouldn’t run into anyone before I could find it again. Even the turns almost home were not clear, but thanks to God we made it home.

A few more rounds were knit into the gusset of the sock, but I’m falling asleep so that will have to be set aside so no mistakes are made. I really need to get some sleep anyway as I have an appointment at the doctor’s tomorrow. It’s a follow up and hopefully no major issues. I’ll take my sock with me so I can knit while I wait because when I get out of there, I have to pick up the clock mechanism for DS’s project, fill the car with gas, and pick up the groceries for next week. Busy, busy tomorrow!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.