Finished & FO

Today DS gave his presentation for his J-term project online. It went very well despite a last minute glitch with the operation of the embedded video. He used my laptop and attached his microphone to talk to the other students and the teacher who was present. Now he has to finish his Reflection paper and the final activity log and J-term will be done. Monday morning he begins his second semester of regular classes.

After he finished his presentation, I was able to use the electric mixer to whip up a double batch of Peanut Butter Crisscrosses.

Cookies cooling on the rack

Cookies cooling on the rack

The double recipe was supposed to make 108 cookies, but only made 88. Some of those were “tested” by my trusty taste testers! 🙂

I also made a loaf of sourdough bread. Instead of only using 4 cups of white flour, I mixed 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup of rye flour, 2/3 cup of oats, and 2 cups of unbleached white flour. This was worked in with warm water, sourdough starter, oil, sugar, salt, yeast, and vital wheat gluten. Rising times were increased because sourdough takes longer to rise but it was well worth it.

Rising round loaf of bread

Rising round loaf of bread

A sharp knife was used to cut two intersecting lines in the middle of the top of the loaf before it went into the oven. Unfortunately, no picture was taken when it came out of the oven as I wasn’t home. DS and DH took care of making sure it baked properly.

And finally, a finish for Socks with Sarah! My second sock is done and tomorrow I will put this picture on the Ravelry page. DH will have these waiting for him when he comes home from work tomorrow.

Finished socks

Finished socks

I’m pleased as punch and hope to get knitting on another pair that have been hibernating. The cross stitch sampler will also need to have the fabric stretched onto the frame so that work can begin. My biggest challenge there will be that if I make it the same size as the other two before it, I will be stitching 28 count as one over one. Of course, I will have to also keep Mr. Curiosity aka Scooter the cat out of my project.

For now, I am off to bed as it is late and I have an early morning as well as a busy and long day. Thank you for sticking with me this far. Hopefully there will be more sock pictures soon.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.