Crafting is excellent therapy!

Not only in honor of my commitment to the Socks with Sarah KAL, but also in a commitment to my personal well-being, I knitted some more on the shades of brown socks. When I knit or craft each day, I feel like I accomplish something besides the normal routine and when I knit there is a peace that comes. All the worries are put in order and my “world” is calmed–not counting when I’m working on the cabled sweater.

At the end of today I was able to complete one repeat on the leg of the first sock and start another repeat. It was decided after talking to DS that these socks should not be knee high like tube socks so I won’t have as many repeats as the pattern calls for. These are made from a vintage sock pattern when they apparently liked really long sock legs. Given that DS’s feet are size 12, a shorter leg will enable me to hopefully not run out of yarn. If so I will have to stash dive for some coordinating solid yarn. Hopefully I will be able to add an updated picture of the sock the first part of the week.

The other progress made this evening was on the cross stitch project. Because I don’t want to give way any hints about how it looks, my pictures must remain hidden. I am hoping that by the end of this week I will have page 1 of 12 done. Ideally I would like to complete a page a week but that most likely isn’t possible. Realistically I’m looking at two weeks for most pages but we’ll see. I really love the dark variegated red thread so far. It is rich looking.

For now I’m headed off to bed as morning comes early and I have to work tomorrow. I am at peace so my therapy has worked. Happy stitching and crafting to all!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.