A new week

Sundays are never good days for me to squeeze in a post. By the time I get home from work after a day that starts at 4:45 AM  it is usually 8 PM. Supper needs to be finished for DH and I, laundry needs to be moved along/folded/hung up, phone calls to various family members need to be made, and crafting of any sort is seldom an option. My eyes are usually tired from staring at a computer screen for most of the 12.5 hours at work. If patients aren’t being checked in/out, I’m checking lab accounts for updated insurance, etc. or completing continuing education required for the job. I still have several online classes to complete and they prefer that I fit them in between patients so they don’t have to pay any extra wages for time spent at home completing them. Most of the ones left are not due until September, but I’d rather get them out of the way. Yesterday was a good day to clear a bunch of the away because most people waited until after the Super Bowl to come in. By then it was time for me to head home.

Today, I have had the privilege of completing more of the first of 12 pages on my cross stitch sampler. It would be great if I could post pictures, particularly of the first page as it is one of my favorite. However, it must remain shrouded in mystery.

The sock was graced with several more rounds. I’m still not pleased with seeing this yarn again and can’t wait until this pair is finished. Then I will treat myself to the green ribbed socks. However, thanks to encouragement from Socks with Sarah KAL, I am getting more done than if I was left to finish whenever.

Lastly, I read a blog post about spinning on a dime. I have wanted to learn how to spin wool with a spindle for some time, but have been unwilling to spend the money as I am trying to use up present stash. My “using up” is going well and I don’t want to stop that momentum. This post shows how to make a spindle with a dowel and small block of wood. Then you purchase your wool online. I wouldn’t get very much at first until I was sure that I enjoyed it enough to invest a bit into it. So perhaps by my birthday in April I will acquire the parts to make the spindle and order a small amount of roving to try.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.