Patience

It seems that the weather is determined to make  for not snowing earlier. The temperature is just at or just below 30° and the snow has been falling steadily since about 3:30 pm. We have 3-4″ so far and it is still coming down. This means that tomorrow morning I will have to get up early–6 am–and go out to shovel the sidewalk and driveway before my better half arrives home from work. Then when I come in I can start breakfast. Perhaps I will boil the eggs for the gravy to go over the biscuits while I am out shoveling. Tonight when DH left for work, he had to brush 2-3″ of snow off his car and the wind was helping to blow it into our faces. We need the moisture, especially the snow so I’m not complaining. This morning I picked up more ice melt as we ran out when we shoveled this morning’s small amount.

Unfortunately no cross stitch happened today because I was hurrying around to get schoolwork completed with DS, groceries and gas purchased, house vacuumed–lost cause rather immediately–and the extra outside work. Thankfully I was able to get enough completed on the leg of my sock that I have moved on to the heel flap. The sock leg pattern was written to be four repeats longer, however, my yarn is limited and DS didn’t want a sock that long so I made sure the leg with ribbing was at least 7 7/8″ long. With his size 12 feet, the yarn disappears really fast. I still may have to make the toes a different yarn. Hopefully I still have some dark brown in my stash. Even though I don’t post every day, I do get some knitting done. It helps to relax me at the end of the day and I am keeping up with the Socks with Sarah KAL.

DH will be home this next week because he has been scheduled to “burn” comp time. The next couple of days he will transition to a day schedule and hopefully will relax. There are a few things that need to be done–like a trip under the house again to tighten up a couple more spots and pricing out the parts to fix the tub in the kids’ bathroom. Hopefully we will only have to replace washers in the faucet. We also will celebrate our 24th anniversary. It doesn’t seem like it has been that long, but it has.

Since morning will come early and I am already tired, I am going to head to bed. Thanks for reading and hanging in there with me. Hopefully pictures of progress will be posted in the next day or so.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.