Lots happening here (belated posting)

This is being posted very belatedly due to  my inability to add pictures earlier and because we have been enjoying having DH home this week. No blogging has occurred, however knitting and projects around the house have been happening. I will catch it all up further after this weekend, I hope! 🙂

This last week and weekend have been plenty busy with lots happening. I’m choosing to pick up where the last post left off if you don’t mind.

The Pathfinder Club inspection went well. This is the club that DS is a member of so DH gave the staff and members some good advice on their Drill & Marching. This was followed by a presentation by the director of the club on the route they will be taking for an upcoming Mountain Biking trip in April. Arrangements have been made for these kids and a couple of staff to bike approximately 40 miles down from the mountains with a stop for lunch, then to continue on to end at a hot springs to ease all the sore, achy muscles. It looks to be a lot of fun. Some kids will do better than others, but all will have fun. Since it will be on a Sunday, DH will drive the “pace” car and I won’t be attending due to work. DS and his pals are so looking forward to a day out in God’s nature.

Last Friday was busy because I had to prepare for Saturday. Groceries and gas were purchased, classes were taught, quizzes and papers were completed, and we were all quite tired by sundown. We didn’t stay up very late, though because church was the next morning at 10 AM. The services were lovely and we hated to dash away, but I had to bring the kids home so I could make up the egg salad sandwiches to take with the crock pot full of potato soup for supper that night. DH and I had a spiritual retreat for Pathfinder leaders to attend. Supper was left for DD and DS as they stayed home and after waking DH up (only 4 hours sleep for the poor man) to take a shower, I drove us 30 minutes away for the afternoon and evening. These meetings were a blessing and most refreshing.

Thanks to the time change, I had to dash home after the meetings and head to bed as quickly as possible. That can be a little hard as we start laundry on Saturday night—to be finished by the kids and DH on Sunday while I am at work—as well as getting everything ready for the next day. To try and help make the time change a little mentally easier, I changed my alarm clock first so that I could begin to think it was an hour later. While not a perfect system, it did seem to help. I woke up on time and made it to work at the appointed “new” hour unlike some of my poor coworkers. We had a fairly good day at work but ended the shift at 11 minutes before I was to clock out with three codes that were all related to each other and quite dramatic. All was resolved, however I didn’t clock out on time and was 45 minutes late getting home. Still all ended well and that is what we can all hope for.

This week DH is home “burning” comp time per his employer’s request. It is nice to have him home, especially since he had to go back to the dentist today as his mouth was still hurting. The news is good, however. He has a mild case of dry socket that should be gone in another couple of days. They applied some of the “nasty” medicine to the area after examining it. The dentist was pleased to report to him that the area is already closing up, there is no infection, and he is doing nicely. I think he was greatly relieved as it hasn’t been the best of experiences. On his way home he stopped at Wal-Mart for some aspirin and purchased me a new computer mouse. I have been borrowing one from DD as my wireless one decided to die. My new one is a lovely pink, has a very short wireless piece that fits in a USB port and the mouse is just the right size for my hand. It reminds me of a Beetle Mouse I had years ago.

With rain since yesterday morning and waking to more today, DH was a bit frustrated. You see, he decided that since the greenhouse he had seen earlier was now on sale for $20 less, it was important that I go purchase it. So last Thursday, DS and I went and brought one home. DH was anxious to put it together so I could begin to fill it with plants and things filled with dirt. He knows how much pleasure I get from playing in dirt and I have always wanted a walk-in greenhouse but never found one for a reasonable price. DH and DS decided to begin putting parts of it together so that IF it quit raining, they could take the parts outside and assemble it all. Partway through the front panel, it quit raining so they quickly took everything outside. After a few trials and errors, and an hour or so of time, they succeeded in getting it together.

Part of the framework

Part of the framework

Large pots and a tub full of toys for playing outside have been put in the bottom to help weight it down. We have it right outside on our back patio within easy access from the house and the garden hose. The plastic has thermal webbing in it so it can immediately start collecting heat and warming up. We will wait two or three days for it to keep warm continuously and then I will move plant trays from inside the house to the greenhouse. I am so excited! There might even be a bit of room for my smaller greenhouse in one end as additional shelf space.

Inside view

Inside view

Up close view  plastic with thermal mes

Up close view plastic with thermal mes

 

The chickens were very curious about what we were putting together. I took them some scratch and since I hadn’t taken pictures of them in quite awhile, I decided it was time to share them.

Gold sex-link rooster

Gold sex-link rooster

They like scratch and grass.

They like scratch and grass.

Our black Astralorp rooster with his lovely emerald green feathers

Our black Astralorp rooster with his lovely emerald green feathers

 

Later this week DH and I will be picking up supplies for the three baby chicks that will arrive a week from tomorrow. (Edited: These supplies were picked up 3/13 but the set up will not happen until after the weekend. Since we will be at meetings this weekend, we decided to wait until next week to have our order of Buff Orpingtons arrive. Then it’s two months of intensive nursery time until the chicks are big enough and the weather is hopefully warm enough to introduce them to the rest of the flock.

So now you should be caught up with all the happenings at our place! Hopefully you will all have a great week!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.