It’s green and it’s growing

The weekend has been busy but short. I didn’t work today because we went out of town on Friday and didn’t return until this afternoon. Between meetings and while riding along through great scenery, some covered with old snow, I was able to get several rounds done on DS’s green sock.

Before

Before

Progress as of today

Progress as of today

The second picture represents 20 rows of p1, k1 ribbing followed by 25 rounds of a 4-round pattern. It is easily memorized and with my KnitWits app on my new phone, I am able to keep track of rounds of the leg pattern without making tally marks in my journal. However, I will most likely make notations in my journal.

On the way out of town, I worked on the seemingly endless “S’more” sock for DS. Unfortunately, I did not get very far into the toe because I started to run out of yarn and had failed to bring the solid chocolate brown that would complete them.

Stalled at the toe

Stalled at the toe

This size 12 men’s sock doesn’t look too great here, but when it is finished, I will try and get DS to model it. He has tried it on and it fits fairly well. I do know that when he outgrows it, I WILL NOT frog them again and reknit as another larger sock and different design. I am so DONE with this yarn! There will be a matching one so he will have a pair to wear and then I hope to cast on a pair for myself.

Quick side note: Scooter has not been willing to let us out of his sight since we returned. He stayed in the house by himself and was an amazingly good cat. His toy mouse ended up under the dryer but so far we haven’t found any evidence of “destructive” tendencies. I did make sure all temptations of a crafting nature were behind shut doors.

A busy week is ahead of us with DH back at work and the kids at school. I keep reminding them that after this week, Spring Break and another week off for DH is ahead. We also are scheduled to make a 4-hour trip west of here this next Sabbath to try and meet again with a new Pathfinder club. We will most likely caravan with another couple and then share a picnic lunch before returning. We will also have to take advantage of Spring Break because we will be traveling a lot to complete club inspections prior to April 27.

Now I’m off to try and finish laundry, post my progress to the Socks with Sarah KAL on Ravelry, and fix a bite of supper for everyone. Thanks for sticking around this long!

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.