Still here

Oops, it has been quite a while since I last posted! Everything is super busy right now. The chicks are growing but still not ready to go into the main coop as the buff Orpingtons are 3 weeks old today and the Silkies are 2 weeks old today. The buffs are getting bigger, but the Silkies are still small. I have been told that this is normal for bantams. Today I emptied out their tub, put down fresh shavings, freshened food and water yet again (they love to fill both with shavings) and put them back in it. They weren’t too keen on being caught and put in a cardboard box with shavings temporarily but when I put them back in their fresh tub, they were thrilled. Hopefully today or tomorrow, DS and I will be able to clean out the big chicken coop and refresh it with straw.

The knitting is plodding along. I work on the Smores socks about four to five days a week and hopefully will get to the heel soon. Right now I am half way down the leg of the second sock. I have also put a few rounds in the green socks, but there is no significant progress to report. It is a struggle to get something done every day right now because of all the things demanding time from me.

We have been experiencing warm weather this week. Today it is all the way to 73° which makes it nice for outside work. Thanks to a slowdown in the rain, we now have a lawn that has been mowed. Unfortunately, it will most likely have to be mowed either Friday of this week or early next week as it is growing real well. The flowerbeds need to be weeded but between homeschool, testing, work, and everyone’s schedules, it will have to be put off. I have at least been able to start my second tray of plants for the garden. I hate when they are started so late, but we’ll manage. I hope that we can till the garden by the end of April and at least plant cool crops in the ground. My kale has come back up as well as my garlic and two seed onions.

The cross stitch sampler sits here “calling” to me that I need to get busy on it. My hope is to put in considerable time tonight on it, but we shall see how that goes. I really need to finish the first three pages and move on.

That is pretty much it for now. I will try to post as I can this month, but we are super busy. Hope all is well in whatever corner of the world you live in.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.