Pictures and progress

The rain has finally stopped for a few days, though we probably could have used more. Still, the lawn has been mowed, the bulbs are starting to bloom, the chick tub has been cleaned, the chicken coop has been cleaned, and the list of yard work has gotten longer. Scooter still lazes around, though we catch him in patches of sunlight in open doorways since it has been in the low to mid-70s. He is lazing less on the sofa.

Don't disturb me!

Don’t disturb me!

Scooter can stretch and sprawl so many ways. He can usually be found stretched out as far as possible with his paws in the air and his tummy  just “begging” to be poked. We have decided that we have never seen a cat that stretches and twists like Scooter. It is also so nice to have a cat that “chirps” and purrs at you and can’t get enough attention.

The lovely pink rose that DH gave me last year made it through the winter. I wasn’t sure if it would, but there is green and when I trim off the dead bits and pieces, it should do just fine. It was in one of our flower beds that is a bit more protected than other spots.

Pink miniature rose

Pink miniature rose

Last fall DH and DS planted a bunch of daffodil bulbs on the front of our property. I wasn’t real sure where they had planted them, but was glad they were in the ground. GPID had insisted that I go and purchase a bag or two of “discounted” bulbs from Lowe’s at the end of the season. Today when DD and I left the house to drive her to work, we saw the daffodil blooms for the very first time. Some have bloomed fully while others are almost set to open.

Open daffodils

Open daffodils

Almost open

Almost open

It amazes me how well they are growing despite the rocky ground they were planted in. We had plenty of rain so I think that helped. Our two new apple trees are putting on leaves. Some of them have opened and spread but due to the lateness of the day, I was not able to get a good picture. Here is one showing the leaves almost ready to open:

Buds on Graebenstein apple tree

Buds on Braeburn apple tree

This next “twig” is  one of our blueberry bushes. It is starting to look like it might bud out which is better than our blackberry bush. I’m not sure if the blackberry bush survived.

Tiny little buds

Tiny little buds

The chickens are still not laying more than 6-7 eggs per day for 11 hens. I suspect that some are still molting. The older buff Orpington isn’t laying as far as we can tell, but she also is NOT molting! She looks really fat and nice. DS wishes she’d start laying instead of eating and growing fat!

Sure wish she'd lay eggs or sit on them.

Sure wish she’d lay eggs or sit on them.

The baby buff Orpington chicks are more nurturing than this bossy gal. They are growing nicely–now at three weeks old–and take good care of the white Silkie bantams that are only two weeks old. P1020176The larger chicks are the buff Orpingtons. When we come near, they usually gather the Silkies in between them or under them. I’m just hoping that at least one of them will decide to sit on eggs when they are older. They are 2-3 times the size of the Silkies, but snuggle down with them like they are the same type.

Our gold Sex-link rooster has grown up to be a beautiful bird. His white and gold feathers are just gorgeous!

Rooster #1

Rooster #1

It is hard to catch a picture of our other rooster’s gorgeous emerald green tail feathers. He is all black except for his tail.

Rooster #2

Rooster #2

Finally updates on the cross stitch sampler and knitting:

Progress as of 04-08-14

Progress as of 04-08-14

When the line of text is finished and the left border is started, I will be done with the first three pages and started on the next three.

And lastly, the knitting progress on the Smores socks and the green socks, both for DS:

Progress as of 04-09-14

Progress as of 04-09-14

I have been able to knit several rows each night while waiting for DD to get off work. The leg is over halfway done. Unfortunately, I am not excited about this yarn and cannot wait to get these over and done with.

Progress as of 04-05-14

Progress as of 04-05-14

These socks are hard to take pictures of. The color doesn’t come through in quite the proper shade. They see the light of day about once a week because of other demands. I wasn’t sure if I would like the dpns that I am using, however I am pleased with them. They are Knit Picks Harmony birch needles and are 6″ long. The shortness took a bit of getting used to because DS’s socks are bigger than everyone else’s due to his size 12 feet. Still I am pleased with them. I am waiting to see if they will be curved like my favorite bamboo dpns by the time I have these socks knit.

That’s it for now. If you have stayed with me this far, thank you! Hopefully it won’t be so long before I have another post and pictures, but don’t hold your breath! This is the busiest time of year.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.