So sad dolly

While poor Leila–dolly’s name–has been awaiting the start of her rehab for over two days, I have been very busy trying to get a few things off my list, namely freezing of the remaining apricots, a meeting (see previous post) and various and sundry other things. I suspect though, that the truth was that I did not want to face Leila’s condition. Two preliminary viewings had already been conducted with the second one making me wonder why I thought this should happen. However, this morning the camera came out and pictures were taken for her “before” views.

Leila Before

Leila Before

As you can see in this view, she is stained, smudged, and missing her hair. Here are a few closer views:

Leila's face complete with makeup smudges and unknown greenish white splotches

Leila’s face complete with makeup smudges and unknown greenish white splotches

Side view of head with unknown greenish white splotches--maybe toothpaste?

Side view of head with unknown greenish white splotches–maybe toothpaste?

Back of head showing dried glue stripes where hair was originally glued into place

Back of head showing dried glue stripes where hair was originally glued into place

Top view of head--more glue stripes and splotches

Top view of head–more glue stripes and splotches

One arm--miscellaneous stains or mold?

One arm–miscellaneous stains or mold?

Back of legs--stains or mold or both?

Back of legs–stains or mold or both?

DSIL said she tried to clean the doll but as you can see, she wasn’t very successful. I believe Leila was given to my niece at about age 4 and unfortunately, her mother didn’t teach her how to take care of the doll. However, she still plays with this doll and I can tell that despite all of the above, the doll is well loved.

My plan of action at this point–given that I am hoping to only spend two weeks on rehab–is as follows:

  1. Muslin has been purchased so the head will be cut out, face traced, and this time I won’t iron on a face that can fade and be smudged up with mom’s makeup. I plan to embroider the face.
  2. Current head on Leila will be removed and banished to the deep recesses of the trash can, but not in front of my niece.
  3. New arms and legs will be cut out from the muslin and made.
  4. New body parts will be installed on Leila.
  5. Leila will receive a new hairdo. I have already discussed with the young lady in question that Leila will have one or two braids made from the black yarn she requested that she must not take a brush to and preferably should not try to redo.
  6. Unbeknownst to the young lady, a new dress and potentially a bonnet–if I can find an appropriately sized bonnet pattern–will be made and put on Leila before releasing her from rehab.

My niece will be 9 by the end of this year so hopefully Leila will be treated better this time around. Wish me luck as I am not fond of embroidery and I am hoping all will be well in two weeks! I will try to post updates as I work through this project. Any comments or suggestions will definitely be considered.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.