Stand back–the fork has descended into a FO

Despite my desire to be fully committed to the Socks with Sarah KAL, I have not always been able to knit on a sock every day. This has frustrated me as knitting is calming and therapeutic for me. Thankfully, however I have completed the Socklets:

Top of foot view

Top of foot view

Sock 1 and Sock 2 all done.

Sock 1 and Sock 2 all done.

To recap, the yarn is Knit Picks Bare Fingering Yarn dyed by DH using green food coloring quite a few years ago. I used a size 1 Knit Picks fixed circular needle for the Magic Loop method. If and when I make this pattern again, I will probably try to use a size 0 instead, though these fit nicely enough.

I am pleased with how they turned out and yes, I am keeping them for myself. I haven’t done that in a long time but these are special because of who dyed the yarn.

I am very anxious to cast on a new pair of socks. On the “Knitting with Sarah” blog, I saw some socks she was knitting using the “Simple Skyp Socks” pattern and just knew that would be a good portable sock pattern. Once again, I will be using some yarn that DH dyed around the same time as the yarn used above. He was playing with food coloring and Kool-Aid on these so I have no idea how this will knit up. The yarn is Knit Picks Bare Fingering and I will use Knit Picks size 0 6″ nickel dpns this time. Here’s a picture of the yarn:

Colors are pretty accurate!

Colors are pretty accurate!

Unfortunately, I am having to take pictures with my phone as the camera I regularly use is back east with DH. That combined with poor lighting due to cloudy weather, etc. made this challenging. However, the colors in all three pictures are fairly accurate.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stand back–the fork has descended into a FO

  1. claire93 says:

    I’m always in admiration of sock-knitters. Your socklets are lovely, and who cares that you can’t keep up the pace for the SAL, the important thing is to have fun ^^

    • Thank you! I enjoy taking them along with me to knit on when waiting for my DD to get off work. It’s a peaceful time and knitting makes it more so. At the end of the day you just need that.

Comments are closed.