Challenges and sadness

Just one week ago, I learned from my older sisters that our father is not faring well and his doctor has given him “weeks not months” to be with us. While we have all been expecting this, it still is hard to imagine what life will be like without our dad. In the last few years he has had numerous health struggles that have increased in quantity. It has become increasingly apparent that he is in a lot of pain, dealing with large amounts of depression, and that is only to name a few of the problems he is dealing with. One of the biggest struggles is that his cancer has returned after seven years. He has other complications that are affecting his quality of life.

In a little over a week I will be heading out to see my dad, probably for the last time. This trip will be different from the others in previous years. I am hoping and praying that I won’t be too late however this was the best timing that we could fit in a trip. With school just starting and so many other demands on my time, as well as trying to purchase a decently priced plane ticket, this had to be our choice. I am glad that I should get to see my dad but so wish the circumstances surrounding the reason for visiting were different.

We have chosen because of finances as well as the memories we want our children to have of their grandpa, not to take them on this trip. DH will be off the three nights that I am gone and pick me up the 4th. He will be with DD and DS to make sure that schoolwork continues as much on schedule as possible as well as to help them through this difficult time of losing their grandparent. They have some really good memories from their visit last year with him and we would like those to be the way they remember their grandpa.

The one good thing in all of this is that because we believe in Christ as our Savior, we have the hope of one day seeing my father again when Christ returns. That we can hold onto when he is no longer with us. And I am so thankful for that hope!

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenges and sadness

  1. claire93 says:

    my thoughts are with you and your family

Comments are closed.