Fall is here!

Well not officially, but the geese are flying overhead, the nights are way cooler (43° when I woke up this morning), and that urge to get the freezer and jars full as well as knit up warm clothes is very strong. Labor Day was spent laboring in the kitchen over some canning. We had picked the tomatoes after I came home from work Sunday evening so I took the opportunity to process them, mostly Romas, into thick juice to can with a bit of salt. While it doesn’t sound like a lot, I had a full canner including a pint of pickled jalapeños and a pint of pickled pepperoncinis. The other five quarts were all tomato juice.

Processing the raw tomatoes into juice

Processing the raw tomatoes into juice

This was almost as thick as applesauce!

This was almost as thick as applesauce!

I love my Victorio that my mom found at a garage sale over 20 years ago. It makes canning so much easier.

5 1/2 quarts juice

5 1/2 quarts juice

The partial quart is in the refrigerator being used fresh.

Pepperoncinis, including one red one!

Pepperoncinis, including one red one!

Jalapeños

Jalapeños in front; pepperoncinis in back

It feels so good to finally get some food in jars and on the shelf. It shouldn’t be too long and the onions will need to be pulled, more tomatoes juiced, and hopefully some fall green beans picked. The pumpkins are doing great but they won’t be ready until October. I’m waiting to see if the musk melons, one cantaloupe, and the butternut squashes will fully grow enough to be harvested before the first freeze. I do know that a decision has been made about the Sweet 100 Cherry tomatoes. They will NOT be grown in our garden again. They didn’t produce that much, although they had plenty of blossoms, and they were just little tiny things the size of the end of my little finger. I’m NOT impressed. I will stick with Romas this next year.

On the knitting front and since there is upcoming travel, I have given in to a major case of startitis. First we have some Chevalier mittens:

Work in Progress (WIP)

Work in Progress (WIP)

Third time is hopefully the charm. The first time I cast on, I couldn’t figure out how to handle the “no st” sections. Then I had a “duh” moment and realized that I just needed to follow the pattern and move to the next stitch. However, I was part way in before I put two and two together and came up with four, so I had to rip out and try again. Time #2, I knit along without looking closer at the symbol legend. When I arrived at round 11, I quickly realized that I had been knitting the purls and purling the knits. To make the cabled portion look proper and not have the ribbing “shift” two stitches in the center, I once again had to decide if I would live with the “shift” or rip it out. For 12 hours, I put the whole project in a timeout. However, I just couldn’t live with the mistake so out it came to be cast on a third time. With fingers virtually crossed, I knit away and have arrived at this point yet again. It looks correct so hopefully I can move on.

Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Artic Pool Heather Worsted Weight

Needles: Knit Picks Size 5 interchangeable tips on a cable (length unknown)

My next project was cast on last night. These are the I Love Gansey socks and are for me:

Ribbing and set up row

Ribbing and set up row

I have made two pairs of socks from this pattern for DD and these are mine. Hers were made from DK and Worsted Weight yarn, however I am choosing to make mine from fingering weight yarn. So far I haven’t had to rip back but I’m almost scared to say that for fear I will have to. This pattern was free through a group I belonged to several years ago, however now it must be purchased in book form.

Yarn: Knit Picks Palette 100% wool in Sky colorway

Needles: Knit Picks fixed circular size 0

I also managed to sneak in a couple of rounds on the hand-dyed socks in the red and brown colorway. Unfortunately there isn’t enough change to take more pictures.

This morning I have my first loaf of bread in the over, the second batch of dough in the bread machine, and am going to cast on a pair of Lace Diamond Toe-Up Socklets. The yarn is Panda Cotton by Crystal Palace Yarns in the College Prep colorway. These are 55% bamboo, 24% cotton, and 21% nylon. Needles will be Knit Picks fixed 24″ circular size 0.

That will only leave me two more projects to cast on. Perhaps they will be cast on today and perhaps not. After all, I have to call about the washer status and the insurance agency about our homeowners insurance. No rest or time to get into mischief yet!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.