Canning, canning, and more canning

Ever since I arrived back home from visiting my dad I have been busy with canning and picking of some sort. Last Monday I had the opportunity to glean peaches. This is really a wonderful opportunity because the peaches are huge, of a good quality, and free. DS and I drove out to the orchard about twenty minutes away and within 45 minutes we had picked enough peaches to fill five 6-gallon buckets. The quality is really good this year and because we were allowed to go in earlier, the peaches are not overripe like last year.

Yesterday, I processed 1 pint of mixed peppers, 2 pints of pepperoncini peppers, and 1 pint of jalapeño peppers. I also prepared some fresh green beans, and last night I was able to can five quarts of tomato juice. It is so very rich and thick. I am hoping that I will get at least a dozen more jars put up before they are all gone.

Very ripe tomatoes

Very ripe tomatoes

Small amount of green beans

Small amount of green beans

There are lots of blossoms on the other patch of beans so we will have to see if they produce well or if it is too late. This week is quite warm so maybe we’ll get some more before the first freeze.

We picked the first musk melon and had a taste. When I cut into it, the melon cracked just like a very ripe watermelon. It was good and actually is already gone. Everyone enjoyed it so maybe Friday I’ll pick another one.

Mmmm...good!

Mmmm…good!

Jalapeños and Pepperoncinis

Jalapeños and Pepperoncinis

Very thick tomato juice

Very thick tomato juice

Five more quarts of juice

Five more quarts of juice

And today I started canning peaches. It looks like I will get about 1 bucketful done a day. Today’s bucket was peeled, sliced, stuffed into jars, and covered with medium syrup before a trip through the canner. I was able to get 14 quarts from this bucket which means I will need to get more jars so I have enough for the remaining tomato juice and peaches. If I continue to get 14 quarts per bucket I am looking at another 56 quarts from the remaining 4 buckets. I have to check but I believe I only have 3 dozen so I need to purchase 2-3 dozen more. And that doesn’t even take care of jars that will be needed for applesauce in October and November.

Eight of the fourteen quarts of peaches

Eight of the fourteen quarts of peaches

Poor DH was asked to make shelves in the garage to put canned goods on. I am running out of space in the kitchen so need some shelves there. It will mean that some nights I may have to run a small heater to keep things from freezing, though we are putting them on the garage wall that has the kitchen on the other side. I almost forgot that I also need to purchase 1-2 dozen pint jars to make rosehip jelly. It looks like we will have a good crop this year. As my oldest sister told me the other day, “You will certainly eat well this winter.” Yes we will because we are being blessed by God!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.