More peaches canned

The saga continues with three buckets of peaches now peeled, sliced, packed into jars, covered in a medium syrup, topped with a lid and ring, and boiled in a water bath. Yesterday, I put up 13 quarts in between all of Thursday’s tasks. If DS had not have had Pathfinders last night, I would have put up another 13, but instead those had to wait until today. Grocery shopping, replacing DD’s watch battery, and setting garbanzos to cook in the crock pot joined teaching DS his classes before I could touch today’s peaches.

After a quick lunch and some more teaching, I began peeling the third 6-gallon bucketful. Sometimes it seemed like I would never reach the end. Thankfully I was able to get the first canner filled and boiling while I started on the second half of the bucket. I also had to put the pizza dough in the bread machine so I could have it ready to make pizza for supper.

The first canner of peaches

The first canner of peaches

Second canner of peaches

Second canner of peaches

The peaches for the second canner were peeled and sliced while standing at the kitchen sink. As a result my feet are super tired and sore, as are my legs. I was afraid if I sat down I would never get back up and might even fall to sleep. These will be so nice for cobblers, fruit on Amish oatmeal, and other yummy dishes. DH even said that he would like it put through the blender and made into a thick creamy syrup for pancakes or waffles. There were four peaches left so I sliced them and gave DH measurements for mixing up an oatmeal crisp topping to sprinkle over them. Then he cut up two tablespoons of butter and we baked it. This was served for dessert with Cool Whip for those who like it.

After supper the garbanzos were done so I turned them into hummus. The first container was just plain hummus that we will take to Baker City tomorrow. The hummus with dried tomatoes was put in the freezer along with another plain hummus carton. Lastly there were enough garbanzos that I froze one container of whole beans. I will use them later.

Tomorrow we will get up early so I can slice olives, chop tomatoes, and pack the hummus for our trip to Baker City. I have the Adventist Heritage honor to teach as well as assist DH teaching a class on Team Building. It should be a fun afternoon following church services, haystacks for lunch and then we will have soup and sandwiches for supper, hence the need to make the hummus. They are providing bread and we are bringing one of the toppings. Hopefully we will be able to leave by 9 pm so that we can get back in time for me to get some sleep before my usual 12-hour shift on Sunday. No rest for the weary but maybe also no mischief making? Somewhere in there I’d like to get in a wee bit of sock knitting!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.