Peaches are done

Despite a really late start today due to picking the garden and teaching DS his classes, the last of the peaches were canned. Unfortunately in the process I lost 1 quart, but we will just move on. A total of 8 quarts of sliced peaches are cooling and hopefully sealing. I also canned 2 quarts + 1 pint of tomato juice, 1 pint of pepperoncinis, and 1 pint of mixed pepperoncinis and jalapeños.

More canning

More canning

Picking the garden was also good this morning. There were more Roma tomatoes, pepperoncinis, jalapeños, 3 small cucumbers, a few green beans, one muskmelon, and not pictured were the white and yellow onions that I dug up. The onions are currently laying on a wire/metal wagon bed drying out a bit. The white onions did not make large bulbs, but the yellow ones did. They will go into the storage box in the garage.

Green beans, jalapeños cucumbers, and pepperoncinis

Green beans, jalapeños cucumbers, and pepperoncinis

Tomatoes and muskmelon

Tomatoes and muskmelon

Peaches before peeling

Peaches before peeling

So no more canning until the end of the week. I’ll move on to other projects. Oh boy, another lid just “popped”. I do so love that sound!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peaches are done

  1. claire93 says:

    lots of yummy produce to anjoy over the long winter months ^^

  2. Den says:

    I’m envious! I hope my garden does as well next year! (this year we were figuring things out)

    • Thank you! I am actually wishing my garden had done better this year, however it is probably best that we didn’t get as much as I have been challenged to spend time in it. Just can’t wait until next year. I’m hoping to order “heritage” seeds and have a huge garden again. Your garden will be great next year! The first year is always a challenge because you have to figure out what grows best in your area and what you want to accomplish with it. When I am able to grow something that shouldn’t (or so I’ve been told) grow in an area, particularly something that we all like, then I feel like there is hope. Okra has been the biggest one for that challenge in the last three places we have lived. I’m anxious to see how your garden blossoms.

      • Den says:

        Thank you! I’ve been wanting to get Heritage seeds as well. Did you have a specific website you were looking at? I’ve been looking around, have 2 or 3 bookmarked. I think.

        You’re right, I did figure out a lot this year – how to do differently, what to do more of, better places to put things. I’m so excited for next year! (I tried planting Tiger Melon this year, just to see, definitely have to start it inside where I live!)

        • This will be my first time ordering Heritage seeds so am still researching. I have a couple of catalogs coming in as I love to pour over a paper catalog to decide. I also found some websites so we’ll see. We haven’t tried the Tigger Melon, but it sure is pretty. This year I planted cantaloupes and musk melons and should have started them indoors. We enjoyed the first of two cantaloupes–which is all we got. We have two musk melons left to eat of a total of four. DS and I are wondering about making a raised bed just for melons next spring. Another project for DH and DS. 🙂

          • Den says:

            I think I may want to also try musk melons next year. I’d been thinking about them and I know they’ll be eaten. It’s going to end up depending on how much space I have after the other veggies, even if we ARE expanding it for next year! 🙂

Comments are closed.