Warmer and happy Thanksgiving

The last few days have finally been warmer. Today almost felt “hot” at 54° for a high. Of course our nights are still down in the upper 20s but that’s okay. The snow is almost all melted and things look brown and ugly. Even the trees had a few leaves still on during the last storm so we will see if the rest fall off now.

It has been hard for DS to concentrate on his schoolwork the last two days, but we are finally done. Yesterday afternoon we snuck in the baking of two batches of biscotti: gingerbread and hazelnut. Now to get the cooking done for Thanksgiving. My part is candied yams, stuffing, pecan pie, and jellied cranberry sauce. I will also help DH with the hot rolls that he always makes. In addition I am going to make a pumpkin pie for us to eat after Thanksgiving. The kids love when I do that because it prolongs the goodies. DSIL will bring mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie, mushroom gravy and steamed broccoli. GPID will bring Martinelli’s and a feast will be had by all.

Additionally I have 10 gallons of apples that I need to turn into applesauce tomorrow so that will take a bit, but with no schoolwork to distract us, I will be able to get this done so that maybe I can knit a bit somewhere along the way. I still have the second sleeve of DD’s sweater to knit so that her sweater will be finished. It is hard right now not to go order a sweater’s worth of City Tweed from Knit Picks during their big sale. I’m hoping I can hold out because I’m really trying to knit up what I have.

Happy Thanksgiving to those of you in the United States! Enjoy your time with your families like we will.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.