Busy cooking for Thanksgiving

Instead of “the night before Christmas”, it is the night before Thanksgiving. Today was spent baking and cooking in preparation for tomorrow, as well as sneaking in the canning of eight quarts of applesauce. So here are pictures and a quick review:

1. After breakfast, a pumpkin was cut up and put in the roasting pan with some water. After covering with foil, the entire pan was put in a 450° for 1 hour to bake. When it came out, it was very hot so we let it cool a bit before running it through the Victorio and then straining it through cheesecloth. I couldn’t find the camera at this point so no pictures. Then it was divided into two cups for a double batch of pumpkin chocolate chip cookies and 1 3/4 cups for a pumpkin pie.

Part of the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

Part of the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

Pumpkin pie

Pumpkin pie

Several of the cookies were sampled by DS and enjoyed. The largest box of cookies were put in the freezer for later. With the holidays there will be plenty of sweets so we’ll have those later. The pie is made from scratch and the pumpkin in both came from the garden this year. The pumpkin that wasn’t needed today was frozen in containers and will eventually be moved from the refrigerator freezer to the chest freezer.

2. A pecan pie was also made as GPID always requests one. Thankfully I found some Texas pecans in my freezer that tasted ever so much better than the bitter ones that were given to us.

Pecan pie

Pecan pie

3. Two days ago DS helped me make two kinds of biscotti: gingerbread and hazelnut–which I switched chopped pecans in. We have been enjoying these with coffee and hot chocolate.

Darker on the top right is gingerbread (there is more underneath) and the light is the pecan biscotti.

Darker on the top right is gingerbread (there is more underneath) and the light is the pecan biscotti.

4. DH made pizza pockets for supper tonight and they were good. I managed to sneak a picture while they were baking.

The two in the right back corner are mushroom and black olive and the rest are just black olive.

The two in the right back corner are mushroom and black olive and the rest are just black olive.

DH's tomato sauce for pizza pockets--made from scratch!

DH’s tomato sauce for pizza pockets–made from scratch!

5. DH also made his yummy hot rolls for our Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. He actually made the dough, kneaded it, and then after it rose, I made out the rolls and baked them off.

I can't wait to try these out!

I can’t wait to try these out!

These are made from a recipe passed down from my mom’s mom. DH made them a time or two for her before she passed away and she was always amazed that he could make them so well. I personally think it is the kneading because he has nice big, strong hands.

6. Tonight DD helped me process 5 gallons of apples into applesauce. We put up eight quarts and the last are boiling off now in a nice hot water bath. I hope on Friday to do another batch.

7. When I was cleaning up the kitchen from the canning–the other clean up had been done earlier after each recipe was shoved in the oven–I also washed up the coffee carafe. Unfortunately, I somehow bumped it and the next thing I knew, it was a shattered mess on the floor. After picking up the biggest pieces, pricking a warm pinky finger which bled like a stuck pig because I had been washing dishes, DD helped me by holding the dustpan while I swept up the rest. Then we took and vacuumed the kitchen floor to make sure that all was up. Thankfully I had saved two other coffee carafe from previous Mr. Coffee coffee makers that had quit working so I pulled out the other black one, washed it up, and we’re set to continue on.

8. Last but certainly not least, I still have my stuffing to make in the morning and the house to clean. Everyone is coming over at 4 pm for supper so will have to get DH up an hour earlier than usual. We should have about eight of us and will probably be nice and full when we are all done.

Finally, here’s wishing everyone a happy Thanksgiving with family and/or friends!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.