Still here and not giving up!

Since the last post, things have not gotten any slower. In fact, I am busier than ever and destined to keep up that pace as long as I possibly can. There has been a bit of knitting, a bit of cross stitching, a bit of planning, and a lot of Pathfindering and school (for DS that is). So in short, here’s what’s happening:

  • The knitting is pretty much confined to some socks for DS in DK wool. The pattern I am using is toe-up which is not my favorite way of doing this. That combined with a short row heel had me ripping back the heel last weekend while trying to get some of it done. Finally last night I was able to  look up a video on short row heels on Youtube. I am working on the first half of the heel and hope to then watch Part 2 of the set by Knit Pearl Hunter and complete the second half. Wish me luck and I hope to get a picture for posting.
  • The cross stitching is more of the same project. I work on it at home and am almost ready to roll it forward to a new section. It is  looking good and I just hope it will meet at the bottom. Last night I did get a bit done on an old needlebook project while waiting for DS at his Pathfinder meeting. It felt good to ply the size 28 needle through the 28-count evenweave. Note: I need to find a source for higher count evenweave and linen pieces for larger samplers at good prices and in different colors.
  • Plans are underway to clean the back yard, maybe start one tray of vegetable plants in the small indoor greenhouse, maybe get a couple of fruit trees, and maybe even cut out part or all of a quilt to carry with me to stitch on in the spare/odd moment. Wonder how much of this I will get done and how quickly?
  • Last weekend was spent in Portland at a Coordinators Convention for Pathfinders. Additionally, DS competed at the union level in the Pathfinder Bible Experience event. His team took a 3rd place which was not as high as they hoped, but considering that each one of the three team members studied on their own and not as a team, I think getting there was good. We were in meetings the rest of the weekend and arrived back home Sunday evening around 10. It was so nice to be home, even after a wonderful time learning new things and making many new friends. While the rain poured, we plotted and planned for major events in the next five years. Our conference will be hosting the Union Camporee in 2017 and the Union Pathfinder Bible Experience event in 2018. Even though that seems like a long ways away, it will come fast and there is much to do. I also went to training for a new class that I will be teaching in August to Pathfinder counselors and directors in our conference. Less time to get into mischief!
  • Planning will shortly be underway for next school year for DS. I don’t want to wait until the last minute as we have our Pathfinder Conference Camporee in September and that will take up a lot of time finalizing plans for meetings and activities for 150-200 people.
  • School is going better for DS as he has settled into the routine we have established. This next week will be great because he will enjoy Spring Break while I try to get ahead in preparation for Algebra 2 afterwards. This week we started the Living Language German Essential Level program. So far he seems to be enjoying it. We did have to adjust the schedule to have each lesson take two days, one for the workbook and CD, and one for the online work. As a result he will not quite finish all three levels by the end of the school year, but that should work out alright as we will work on the program next fall. It will give me time to find another program for German at a higher level or give him the opportunity to learn another language. We shall see.

That’s pretty much all for now! IF I ever get caught up, I will endeavor to post more often, but for now this is the best I can do. With spring on the way and warmer weather in the future, it is time to get busy in the yard and eventually the garden!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.