Conflict: 29° vs. 79°?

Monday we had temperatures all the way to a brief 79°. For some it felt hot (DH is always hot :)). For others it was a welcome warmth. For my new seedlings and possibilities, it was wonderful.

Tray #1--all 72 pellets planted and some even growing.

Tray #1–all 72 pellets planted and some even growing.

Tray #2 - the other 72 pellets also sprouting.

Tray #2 – the other 72 pellets also sprouting.

These are both in my small indoor greenhouse next to the dining room window. I switched sides so that hopefully they will grow straight and tall. So far I have lots of tomatoes (beefsteak, cherry, and Roma), cabbage, oregano, basil, dill, and honey dew melon coming up. Hopefully by the end of this month, I will be able to plant these outside in the garden and front herb bed.

On the knitting front, I haven’t added much to this, but here are a few pictures of DS’s latest socks:

Bottom of foot

Bottom of foot

P1030075

Top of foot

P1030077

Side view with new-to-me heel

While I am so not fond of toe-up socks, this one is done that way and I don’t  feel like changing the pattern. I can change a cuff-down one, but haven’t gotten comfortable enough with toe-up to change it. This sock looks huge but that is because DS has size 12 feet and so it has to be huge. I am stuffing this back into my purse to take along with me to see if I can get it done because at home all my time is devoted to homeschool, homemaker duties, chauffeuring, and working on the wedding sampler.

Pattern: The Jogless Hiking Sock (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Knitpicks Telemark DK in Flame Heather and Cream

Needles: Knitpicks Nickel Circular Size 3

Perhaps these will be finished by  next fall when they will be welcomed again? I want to get them finished and work on other projects. I have so many calling to me from my knitting, cross stitching, planning for next school year, crocheting, and even quilting. Too many things I want to do and not enough time!

Last but certainly not least is a picture of one of our apple trees. The leaves are out on both trees, but not on the peach tree. We are fearful that the peach tree may be dead, but since I didn’t purchase it until May last year and it had only leaves and no blossoms then, I am waiting to see what happens. That waiting includes watching the local places for another peach tree, though.

Apple tree

Apple tree

This picture was taken by DS. As you can see the leaves are nowhere near out fully even on this apple tree. That is perhaps due to the low nightly temperatures we have been experiencing. We had a very windy cold front move in yesterday afternoon while DH and DS were helping GPID cut down two very large trees. While most of it was wind, there was a wee bit of rain and then we woke to 29° this morning at 6:30 am. Hopefully it will be warm enough by the end of the month to plow and plant the garden at least with early crops, with indoor plants installed in the garden by mid-May.

Now I am off to see how much I can complete on the sampler as it is still too cool outside to do much. I hope your day is going as well as mine is and you find time for all you want to do!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conflict: 29° vs. 79°?

  1. Wonderful to read your post. And see what you are getting up to. Looks like a lot of fun! Having a good day as well. Long weekend for us here in SA. Have a great day and take care. 🙂

Comments are closed.