A minute here, a minute there

A quick update on the crochet hats for Click for Babies is due. DH has completed his first crochet hat, but I don’t have a picture of it. He even went on YouTube and found a video that showed him how to fasten off at the end and tuck in his ends. Soon he plans on having me teach him how to knit so that he can knit the next one as he still has yarn in his skein. I’m so very proud of him.

So far I have crocheted two hats from my skein. The second one is a bit smaller than the first one although you can’t exactly tell that from these pictures:

Hat #1

Hat #1

Hat #2

Hat #2

My ends need to be tucked in but these two are done. I have started casting on a knitted one on a new size 5 16″ circular needle that I picked up for DH at Hobby Lobby. It is a bit stiff so I want to try it out and make sure that it will work for him. Otherwise we will have to figure out another method.

It has been most fun to watch Scooter see how close he can get to our projects before he gets called to task. For some reason, he is extra fascinated by this particular project.

While at Hobby Lobby, I also picked up three more skeins of yarn that were on sale to knit further hats. The yarn used in the hats above is a bit too splitty, though I will certainly use up the whole skein. Also, I wanted to make this hat and needed two different shades of purple along with a white skein. Since all the hats have to be more than 50% purple, I found a dark purple and a medium purple to replace the gold and green in this hat, though I adore the colors shown. I hope to make some of those after I get through the one I am casting on from the same yarn as the hats above. Depending on all my demanding projects right now, I hope to have these well on their way to completion soon.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.