Happy early Mother’s Day to me!

Today after taking DD to work, I ran several errands including one to Lowe’s to pick up seeds and plants for the garden that I hope to put in this week. Even though I have started most of my plants at home and they are more than ready to go into the garden, I still had to pick up onion starters and seeds that are planted directly in the ground. After going through several racks of seeds, I came home with green beans, okra, cucumbers, yellow squash, zucchini, lettuce, and spinach. Then I was fortunate to find a rhubarb plant and a rosemary plant. The rhubarb will be planted in a corner of the yard near the garden and the blueberry bushes, while the rosemary will go into the herb bed in the front. For now these plants are on the bottom shelf of my little greenhouse. I am hoping to have everything in the ground by the end of the week as the tomato plants are getting a bit desperate themselves to be out of there.

When DH came home, after resolving a scheduling conflict with his work, he made a quick trip to Tate Rents to pick up a large tiller for two hours. As you can see from these pictures, our garden was being rapidly taken over by weeds and grass. Some areas he had to go over two or three times, but I now have a nice big plot to fill with goodies. Once again we talked about our hope that we will be able to till again in the fall before winter sets in but after the plants are pulled from the garden. Regardless, I am sure there will be quite a fight with the weeds for who gets the garden. I plan on winning, though it will certainly cut into time spent on other projects.

Tilling the garden

Tilling the garden

Partially done

Partially done

As you can tell in the second picture, we will need to rack the dirt real good in the morning and then plant as quickly as possible. The reason for the quick planting is because we may get rain Wednesday or Thursday of this week and I would love to have everything that I have so far in the ground to take advantage of that possibility.

Planting and the beginning of the garden is my favorite time of the year even though it means lots of hard work. “Playing in the dirt” is great therapy and being outside–other than the toll it takes on my allergies–is the very best! Now to see how all of my plans work out.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.