Chicks, garden, knitting, crocheting and sunshine/rain

The sunshine is popping out in between clouds of rain which is so very good for the garden. We have had so much rain that finally I just went out in the sprinkles this morning and put in the black turtle beans. Of course, now we have a bit of sunshine so hopefully everything will grow, grow, grow. While out in the garden I found volunteer “pumpkin” (?) and volunteer “butternut” or other squashes (?) coming up. So far they are growing better than anything, though I didn’t ask them to come back up in those spots. I’m leaving them for now as they can weave around the other things I have planted, as long as they don’t choke them out. I also found lettuce and spinach coming up:

Lettuce that will need thinning before long

Lettuce that will need thinning before long

Look closely and you can see the spinach

Look closely and you can see the spinach

The ground looks quite dry for all the rain that we have gotten in the last one and a half weeks but you don’t have to go very deep and it’s nice and moist. Thankfully we are supposed to have rain off and on through the end of this week, but also cooler than I like temperatures.

The amaryllis, rosemary, and rhubarb have all been put into the front bed with the herbs and a couple of roses. So far they are all doing well although I think the rosemary would like more warmth and dryness.

Amaryllis

Amaryllis

After the blossoms faded, we waited a few days and then moved this bulb outside where it would be protected but hopefully will bloom again.

Rosemary

Rosemary

Since last year’s rosemary died over the winter, I’m thinking this bed will need to be covered in straw to protect my plants. My parsley also died and didn’t come back even though my mother-in-law used to have it come back strongly every year when she was alive. So this fall we will get one bale of straw just to put over all the plants in this bed.

Rhubarb

Rhubarb

One of the stems broke during the transplant process, but otherwise this plant is MUCH happier outside where there is more room to grow roots. I’m hoping that next year we will have plenty to harvest from this plant to make rhubarb/strawberry and rhubarb/cherry pies and cobblers.

Yesterday one of our rose’s actually had a dark red bloom on it and there have been a few more today. And then I found red buds on the miniature rose that DH gave me a couple of years ago.

First rose bloom that we found

First rose bloom that we found

Two rosebuds on my miniature rose from DH

Two rosebuds on my miniature rose from DH

Additionally, the sage blossomed out almost immediately this spring and since I have plenty of it in the cupboard, I chose to let it blossom and maybe spread seeds. This herb made it nicely through a very cold winter. The blossoms are so very pretty.

Top left corner: catnip; middle: sage; bottom right: basil with oregano hiding behind; bottom left: oregano

Top left corner: catnip; middle: sage; bottom right: basil with oregano hiding behind; bottom left: oregano

The lighting in today’s pictures is not the best due to little sun–yes it has disappeared again–but that doesn’t stop the chicks from growing. This week the black Sexlinks are now 3 weeks old and the New Hampshire Reds–still little yellow fluff balls–are 2 weeks old. A couple of the blacks are starting to see if they can fly in their box, but they are nowhere near having all of their feathers.

Growing quickly

Growing quickly

The blacks are looking a little “ratty” as they change their soft down for lovely black feathers, but this stage will pass quickly. They all bed down  nicely together so I imagine that like last year’s batch, these six will be their own group for quite some time, even when introduced and hopefully integrated into the larger flock.

And lastly, just a quick report with pictures on the knitting and crocheting of hats for the Click for Babies project. Between DH and I, we have completed eight hats and I have #9 cast on, but had to put it aside because I am still attempting to finish the cross stitching of THE SAMPLER. Here are a few pictures that don’t really show the lovely purples:

DH's first ever crochet baby hat

DH’s first ever crochet baby hat

Crochet hats from a different pattern

Crochet hats from a different pattern

Knitted baby hat with folded up ribbing edge

Knitted baby hat with folded up ribbing edge

My favorite: knitted colorwork

My favorite: knitted colorwork

The colors are actually two shades of purple with white in between, but the lighting today is just not helping. I have another one of these cast on and the ribbing done, but can only work on it when waiting for DD to get off work or at appointments, which thankfully we don’t have too many right now.

So other than the grass desperately needing mowing and weed whacking and the garden needing sunshine, all is well in our world. The school year is ending soon, but that will be a whole separate report. Hope all is well in your corner of the world.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicks, garden, knitting, crocheting and sunshine/rain

  1. claire93 says:

    lol I’ve just scheduled a post for tomorrow morning of our things growing in the garden ^^ Isn’t it lovely and magical to see how nature pushes up through the soil? So glad to see that everything is growing well – here’s hoping you get the right amount of sun and rain for things to continue that way.
    And awww – chicks are looking very cute.

    • Yes, I love when things are peeking through, even the “volunteers” from the previous year that are unexpected. I noticed that your ladies are laying quite nicely which is very good!

      • claire93 says:

        all growing things are exciting for us this year since we only moved into the house in December. Obviously, the things we planted are interesting to follow, but it’s the other stuff (the kiwi, the figs) that I’m really excited about ^^
        and yes girls are happy but found Miss Moneypenny free-ranging outside of the park this afternoon, so she’s definitely going to need wing-clipping, the naughty girl.

        • I’m envious of your figs and kiwis. I think we can possibly grow figs here, but not kiwis. Since any time that I touch figs I break out we probably won’t grow them however. As much as I don’t like clipping wings, we always seem to have to do this because they just “have” to try.

          • claire93 says:

            I’m a bit “scared” at the idea of wing clipping, I have to admit. I know it’s not difficult, but hens aren’t used to being handled (apart from Miranda) and I’m more worried they’ll sense my stress and lack of experience than anything else lol

            • I was the first time, too. Still not one of my more favorite tasks. However it was either clipping or giving up my garden as that was where they wanted to be and I’m not ready to give up my garden yet. DH and DS helped by catching them and holding them while I spread out their wings and carefully clipped with a pair of scissors. I have been fortunate in that DH helped his father with thousands of chickens on a farm in South Africa. He doesn’t like eating them, but loves the eggs and has a wealth of knowledge. And with his dad nearby, I have that knowledge to access as well. I was told that clipping for a chicken is like clipping our fingernails. It doesn’t hurt them, just aggravates them because they are “caught” and it is done. Our cat doesn’t like when we clip his claws either–we have never declawed him as he goes outside with us–but it doesn’t hurt him. Just makes him pout. 🙂

Comments are closed.