Finally an FO!

January 24, 2014 seems like just a short time ago, but that is when I purchased the fabric for the cross stitch sampler and began my journey. Some days it seemed like I would NEVER get finished, and others went quickly because I made great leaps of progress.

In looking back at various posts, I remember wondering if the colors would look good together as I added in the second color. Would they blend and not have one over power the other?

Believe it or not, last night after not getting too much done in the last three weeks, the final stitches were added. Oddly enough, the stitching became slower the closer I got to the finish line. It was almost as though I didn’t want the work to end, but I really did want this one finished.

Here are some pictures of the finished work! The blurred/swirled section is to protect the privacy of the recipients.

Completed Sampler

Completed Sampler

Another look

Another look

Close up of top of sampler

Close up of top of sampler

Close up of bottom of sampler

Close up of bottom of sampler

The lighting wasn’t the greatest today and this piece needs ironing as it was taken straight out of the scroll frame for pictures, but hopefully this gives a better idea of the completed project. The colors are a bit more intense and on white fabric. I had very little left of the second skein of the red variegated (#115), but was just glad that I had enough as it is hard to get your hands on it any more.

Now I need to carefully press this, back it with a light interfacing, find a padded mounting board (already checked two stores and they didn’t have any), and frame the work. My hope is to carry this with me on the plane (instead of shipping in the mail) when I return to CA for my father’s memorial in October. I will see the bride’s mom on that visit and maybe even the bride and her husband and will leave this with them.

And now I am sewing the velcro onto another piece of evenweave to start at some point in the very near future, DD’s Christmas stocking. Originally I had started a stocking for her on Aida cloth, but thankfully after setting it aside for more pressing projects quite some time ago (try years), it became stained and there was no choice but to start over. This was fortunate even though I had completed about 1/4 of it, as I hope to have a much easier time putting in the minute details on evenweave. Do I hear 1/2 and 1/4 stitches anyone?

However, once this is put in the scroll frame and floor stand, it will be set aside as a gift for the new baby coming to my nephew and his wife needs to be completed and set aside to also deliver during the same trip listed earlier. Must get cracking in between planning for Pathfinders, DS’s school year, and gardening. I see many late nights and early mornings in my immediate future!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.