End of the garden

With temperatures at night down as low as 36°, it has become necessary to strip the tomato vines of all ripe and green tomatoes. All the ripe ones will be made into salsa and canned in the next few days. The green ones will be put in cardboard boxes in the garage to ripen. I have a little over 5 gallons of green ones, so hopefully I can make either more salsa or maybe even some juice. Either way, the season is over. The last two okra pods were picked and everything is ready to mow down and till in. DH and DS helped strip the vines and then tossed them over the fence into the chicken pen. The chickens will enjoy the treat. Hopefully after the tilling, I will be able to plant a head or two of elephant garlic and break up several regular bulbs and plant them. I would like to have them next spring.

I’m still waiting for the call on the apples to make applesauce. My jars and lids are all ready so hopefully it won’t be too much longer.

The baby afghan/blanket is now in the border stages. I had to rewrite the pattern a bit because once again, I wasn’t pleased with the way it had to be sewn together. Too much chance of it coming apart down the road. So I picked up stitches all around and am knitting a seed stitch border. It looks like I will have plenty of yarn so am just going to continue the border until I run out. After all, a blanket can never be too big!

Now off to start supper before I head to pick DD from work. It is in the upper 70s so we will have pasta salad while we can enjoy it. While I’m gone, DH will take DS to his girlfriend’s volleyball home game. She invited him to come see and since he did all his schoolwork and chores, we are letting him go. It’s only ten minutes away and I’ll go pick him up when it’s over. So that’s all for now!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.