Speed

In recent months emails and sometimes posts have been showing up about newer, faster ways to knit. At first I read some of these and even watched the videos showing these methods. After all, don’t we all want to move faster and get more done? One evening I tried to follow the instructions and pursue my “dream”. While I knew with practice I could become a faster knitter, I found my shoulders tensing up and my body leaning forward, intent on “getting it done faster”.

Where was the relaxing time and peaceful thoughts while I knitted? Where was the resolutions to problems during the day that came while I relaxed and knitted or crafted? All I had was more tension and stress and the projects didn’t get finished any quicker. I admire people who can pursue speed and still be relaxed, however I learned that for me, the fun and joy went out of knitting when I became bent on doing it faster or making more.

So my solution: Back to my regular way of knitting and accepting that only for me–not for everyone else–it is important to enjoy the process and if it gets a little faster just because I am enjoying myself and if a problem’s solution comes to me during that time, then I have achieved my goals.

Now to step down from my soapbox! 🙂

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Speed

  1. Buffy the Writer says:

    I’ve also seen a lot of advice on the web pronouncing “new ways to increase knitting speed. For me, it depends on the project I’m working on. If it’s for someone else, then I push myself very hard to finish the project on time (for their birthday or anniversary). When it’s for myself, I take my time and “knit for the sake of knitting” (which means I knit so slowly I rarely finish). Those are two extreme examples, but I generally tend to be more efficient when making something for someone else.

    • Most of my knitting is for others but I like to enjoy the process. Part of the pleasure of knitting for others is wondering about and imagining their reaction upon receipt.

      • Buffy the Writer says:

        Sometimes I’ll start a project for someone else and keep it for myself. I should take a chapter out of your book and try imagining their reaction. It might make me more generous. 🙂

  2. Great post. 🙂 I knit slow, and have resolved to knit at my own pace and just enjoy the knitting. Lol. I will never be able to knit as fast, so I happily watch the videos and read the mails, smile, and knit! 🙂
    Have fun, no matter how or how fast you knit. xxx

Comments are closed.