Update as of 02-15-16

This is a couple of days after but shows the progress on the stocking. I am trying to squeeze in time for it but have a knitting project pressing down on my time as well as a huge competition for our Pathfinder Bible Experience Saturday afternoon. The latest sections added at the bottom are not big but were confetti and partial stitches with 4-8 different colors in each small section. I hope to move on after this weekend, but only time will tell if that happens.

20160213_122418

Lots of confetti and partial stitches

One of the secret projects can now be shown. These were made after a very dear friend showed me the pattern during one of our coffee/crafting mornings. Since Hershey Kisses are one of DH’s favorite candies, I just had to make one for him, each of the kids, and then sent one in the mail to my mom for Valentine’s Day and her birthday. The pattern can be found on Ravelry, I believe.

20160206_201958

One of four

These are very quick to make and don’t use that much yarn. Though they look big in the picture, they are only about 4-5″ tall. Nicest part: they have NO calories! 🙂 Not that we didn’t have a few of the real ones around. It just isn’t Valentine’s without one or two.

And finally, there are no pictures yet for this part, but the small greenhouse has been moved into the dining room and set up. The first tray of seeds has been started: beefsteak tomatoes, jalapeños, strawberries (I really hope they do get going this year!), and cabbage. I also purchased seed to start tomatillos, Roma tomatoes, brussel sprouts, and celery. Yes, supposedly you can start celery inside and then grow it outside so we will try. I also purchased lettuce seed that you start inside and transplant. Now I need to finish off that tray and fill the eggshell-lined egg cartons that are part of an experiment for this year. I will try starting herbs in those. Apparently they pull from the shell and grow well so we will see if there is any truth to it. I have some extra seed for trying. Once plants come up, I’ll take pictures. A bag of white and a bag of red onion bulbs “jumped” into the cart as well, but those will be planted directly into the soil in the garden possibly after Spring Break! I can’t wait to get the garden going, though how I will find time for it, I have no idea.

Until the next update, keep warm, stitch at leisure, and enjoy the return of the  next season.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update as of 02-15-16

  1. Lovely little pattern, so cute. And a perfect little gift. 🙂 Great job on the cross stitching, making progress and looking good.
    All the best with the seedlings, sounds like a good lot of fun too. 🙂

  2. Beautiful stitching on the stocking. Can’t wait to see more. The Kiss is adorable! The perfect gift for Valentine’s day and it lasts longer than chocolate 😉

Comments are closed.