Chicken update

The chickens are fully integrated and now we just have to wait for the newest hens to lay their first eggs. We have 20 hens and 3 roosters. I am so glad that DH and DS redid the fence to the pen and added area. Their next project is to extend the size of the coop about 8′ and add more roosts. At least with the run in between the areas we have lots of room. They like to go out into the run in the morning when they are waiting for DS to let them out for the day. I think this has helped them to integrate easier. 20160526_113043

As you can see, the ground looks very dry, but it is actually still drying out from the recent rains. I do need to add vegetation areas again into their pen, so that is my  next project while I wait for the garden to sprout and grow.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken update

  1. claire93 says:

    wow you’re going to be snowed Under with eggs!

    • Maybe I will actually get a few eggs to cook with. Our neighbor buys most of ours to give to his family. Since it is cash for our son until he gets a job, we have let it be. He should have a job by summer’s end and since we have three from original flock four years ago, we anticipate that it will even out. I don’t plan on getting so many after this.

Comments are closed.